Other Electronic Book Collections where you can find classic literature online
There are growing sources for electronic versions of books online. You can browse these sources below.
Reference e-books and classics.
- Classics in the History of Psychology
The EServer is a digital humanities venture, based at Iowa State U, where hundreds of writers, editors and scholars gather to publish over 35,000 works free of charge.
- Google Books
Search the latest index of the world's books. Find millions of great books you can preview or read for free.
- Historical Monographs Collection at Cornell University
Cornell University Library Historical Monographs is a collection of selected monographs with expired copyrights chosen from a variety of disciplines.
- Humanities Text Initiative
The Humanities Text Initiative, a unit of the University of Michigan's Digital Library Production Service, has provided online access to full text resources since 1994.
- Internet Archive Texts
400,000+ open-access texts
Audio-books - mainly classics. Original works are public domain but the audio recordings are not.
- National Academies Press
3,000+ scholarly tomes
- Ohio State University Open Access Initiative
60 scholarly titles in history and literature
- Online Books Page
Listing over 1 million free books on the Web
- Perseus Digital Library
E-book classics from the medieval and renaissance periods. From Tufts University.
- Project Gutenberg
The biggest collection of public domain e-books on the web. Many classics and primary sources.
- Questia - Free Books
Public domain ebooks on all topics.
- Schoenberg Center for Electronic Text and Image (SCETI)
rare books & manuscripts from U. Penn
- UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004
includes almost 2,000 books from academic presses on a range of topics, including art, science, history, music, religion, and fiction.
- Windows on the Past
dozens of scanned primary source texts
- Wright American Fiction 1851-1875
2,800+ 19th century works of American fiction.
- UN Full-Text Collection
E-books on agriculture, development, environment, food, etc. From the United Nations.