This is the "Home" page of the "Annotated Bibliographies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Empire State College: State University of New York Skip navigation Home | Prospective Students | MyESC | Search Tools | Request Info

Annotated Bibliographies   Tags: annotated bibliography, assignments, tutorials, writing  

Resources for how to write an annotated bibliography, including samples.
Last Updated: Feb 19, 2014 URL: http://subjectguides.esc.edu/annotatedbib Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Video Introduction

More Annotated Bibliography Info & Examples

 

Basics

Writing an Annotated Bibliography

An annotated bibliography is an organized list of citations (sources such as books, articles, and other materials) relating to a specific topic where each citation is followed with a brief descriptive note or "annotation." The citations are formatted in a specific citation style, such as MLA, APA, or Chicago (your instructor should indicate the style they want you to use). The annotations in your bibliography can:
  • describe the book or article's content
  • demonstrate the book or article's relevance to your research
  • discuss the reliability or validity of the book or article's content
  • present your reactions to the book or article's content
Several excellent online tutorials are available to help you arrange, write and format your annotated bibliography. You may wish to begin with the GVC Writing Center tutorial on annotated biblographies (see link in lower left).
 
It can be helpful to review samples of existing annotated bibliographies, too. Remember, however, to follow the style and format that your instructor has indicated in your assignment.
 
 
Thanks to Susan Hollis for sharing information for this page.

Ask Your Librarians

Profile Image
Your Librarians

Contact Info
Submit Question Online
Phone: 1-800-847-3000 ext. 2222
Reference hours:
-Su: 1pm-9pm
-M-Th: 9am-9pm
-Fr: 9am-5pm
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip