Searching for your topic? Use databases.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCOHost)all subjects
Lots of full-text scholarly articles in all subjects - great place to start your research.
Click here for the how to." target="_blank">Click here for the How To
College login required - America: History & Life (EBSCOHost)history
Scholarly articles on history in the US and Canada, from prehistory to the present. This is the best database to search for American history topics.
Click here for the how to.
College login required - Art Abstracts (EBSCOHost)
- Black Thought and Culture (Alexander Street Press)area studies
Non-fiction works written by African Americans.
College login required - Communication and Mass Media Complete (EBSCOHost)communications & media
Scholarly and non-scholarly articles on communication and media topics.
Click here for the tutorial
College login required - Daily Life through History (ABC-CLIO)history & culture
Videos and audio resources about culture and history.
Click here for the How To.
College login required - Dissertations & Theses: Humanities and Social Sciences (ProQuest)all subjects
Full-text dissertations and theses.
College login required - Film Literature Index (Indiana University)film
Articles in film studies, film reviews. No full-text, but you can get the full-text in some of our other databases.
Free Access - JSTORall subjects
JSTOR does not have articles from the past year or two!!!
Articles in all subjects. Especially good for ancient history, literature, film studies, mathematics, environmental science, African American studies.
Click here for the How To.
College login required
Free Access for the public to most JSTOR content here - http://about.jstor.org/individuals - ProQuest Research LibrarySelect Arts from the drop down menu for full-text journals on all aspects of the arts.
- Humanities Full-text (EBSCOHost)arts, literature, culture
Scholarly articles, works of fiction and poetry, book reviews, interviews and reviews of ballets, plays, operas, TV shows, etc.
Click here for the How To
College login required
Know what article or journal you're looking for?
- Google Scholar, with library full-text linksKnow the name of the article? This link passes you through the college login to get to Google Scholar. Put the article title in quotes! Look for the "Full-text @ ESC Library" link.
- Journal FinderKnow the name of the journal? This tool lets you enter the journal's title into the search box and shows you the databases that have articles from that journal. Here's the How To.
Need help with searching?
- Identify keywordsSearching for English phrases in a database doesn't work. You have to boil your topic or question down into keywords that represent its basic concepts.
- Combine keywordsEntering your keywords by themselves is less effective than combining them with Boolean Operators (AND, OR, NOT, etc.) Here's how to do it.
- Citing basicsA collection of web sites that will help you cite your sources (aka document your sources, make footnotes and bibliography.)
Using the Library with Mobile Devices
Is the Online Library compatible with my iPad? Kindle? Droid Phone? Blackberry? Other mobile device?
The answer is, it depends on your device and the library resource.
For information about each library database and e-book collection and how they work with mobile devices as well as information on available apps and how to read articles or e-books on your device, please visit http://www.esc.edu/library-mobile
What are scholarly/peer reviewed articles?
In scholarly/peer reviewed articles:
- Author is an expert in the subject
- Content is evaluated by other experts before publication
- All information sources are cited
Some databases have all scholarly material. Others have an option to search for only scholarly/peer-reviewed articles.
Your Librarians |
Contact Info Contact Info: 1-800-847-3000 ext. 2222 -Sun: 1pm-9pm -Mon-Thu: 9am - 9pm -Fri: 9am-5pm About the Library Send Email |

Loading...
