Skip to main content

Library Workshops: Home

Why take a library workshop?

  • save time and effort on doing your research.
  • get a leg up on doing superior research using scholarly resources.
We use Blackboard Collaborate as our online, live classroom platform. It has text chat, whiteboard, screen sharing and computer audio capabilities for collaboration and communication.


Upcoming Dates & Registration

Fall-Winter 2015 Schedule:

Recent previous sessions:

  • Mon, 10/19, 6:30-8 pm: Research Skills for Grad Students
  • Thu, 10/226:30-8 pm: Research Skills 1
  • Mon, 10/26, 6:30-8 pm: Citing Your Sources
  • Tue, 10/27, 6:30-8 pm: Research Skills 1
  • Mon, 11/2, 6:30-8 pm: Research Skills 1
  • Wed, 11/4, 6:30 - 8 pm: Research Skills 2
  • Mon, 11/9, 6:30-8 pm: Citing Your Sources
  • Thu, 11/12, 6:30-8 pm: Research Skills 1
  • Tue, 11/17, 6:30-8 pm: Research Skills 2
  • Mon, 11/23, 6:30-8 pm: Citing Your Sources

Looking for online and in-person workshops on other academic topics, such as study skills, writing, and more? Try Academic Support Workshops

     How to register for a library workshop:

  1. Check that your computer and browser is compatible with the webinar software (failure to do so may prevent your participation)
  2. Check that your computer meets minimum system requirements (ver 12.5) [note: Windows 8 machines using the Internet Explorer browser will not work]. Also helps to know how to copy-paste (view copy-paste tutorial)
  3. Click on the "Register" link next to the date you want, then enter your name and email and choose the date you want to register for from the list. The URL for the workshop will be sent in a reminder email the day of the workshop.

Technical Requirements

IMPORTANT: you must successfully complete all technical and set-up requirements below before registering

Minimum Technical Requirements:

  1. Check Compatibility and minimum system requirements (note: microphone or headset NOT required). If you encounter problems, view Common Issues Encountered
  2. Internet connection speed: broadband recommended
  3. Listening options:
    • computer speakers
    • or headphones (microphone optional) or headset
    • or telephone (calling charges from your carrier may apply)
  4. Talking options:
    • computer microphone or headset
    • or no talking (text-chat only): if you do not have a microphone or headset to speak into, you can communicate using text chat only
    • or telephone (calling charges from your carrier may apply)

Set-Up Requirements:

  1. PRIOR to registering make sure your computer works properly with Blackboard Collaborate. Go to the Collaborate Support site (you can do this anytime prior to registering)

NOTE: technical support for Collaborate is NOT provided by the College.

If you encounter a technical problem, go to:

If you need to request accommodations on the basis of a disability, please contact Disability Services @ x2201 or when you register. The library workshops use a combination of visual and audio media that may necessitate the use of accommodations. Requests for accommodations should be submitted as early as possible to allow for sufficient planning. If you have questions, please visit the disability services website ( or contact the office at x2201 or Return to navigation links

    Workshop Descriptions

    a. Research Skills 1:

     You will learn how to:

    • Brainstorm a manageable research topic
    • Create a search strategy from a research topic
    • What is peer-review?
    • Use powerful search results page options

    How to effectively and efficiently do research, which includes searchable access to millions of full-text journal & newspaper articles and other resources. Ideal for those new to the college, new to using the online library or doing college-level research.

    Note: bring your own research topic to work on.


    b. Research Skills 2:

    [NOTE: Research Skills 2 is designed for those who have already taken Research Skills 1 above. It is highly recommended you take Research Skills 1 before taking this workshop.]

    This session will build on the search skills covered in the first workshop, and discuss other time-saving research skills, such as:

    • Reference mining  
    • How to evaluate information sources to get a sense of their quality
    • How to successfully integrate sources into your writing (signal phrases and paraphrasing).


    c. Citing Your Sources:  

    You will learn how to:

    • Understand the importance of citing in research writing
    • Know the consequences of not citing properly
    • Determine which citation style to use
    • Understand the purpose of in-text and end-of-paper citations
    • Distinguish among different source types and situations
    • Navigate to citation tools and instruction

    This workshop takes the learner through the reasons citing is so important to research, the various scenarios researchers will encounter, as well as available citation guides and tools with an emphasis on MLA and APA styles. Ideal for those new to college-level research writing.

    d. Using the library's e-books, dictionaries, & encyclopedias:

    You will learn how to:

    • Use the library e-book catalog  
    • Search the full-text of specific e-book collections 
    • Use special features available in our e-book collections
    • Locate print books (and journals) at nearby libraries using WorldCat
    • Search in our online dictionaries & encyclopedias

    How to effectively navigate, search and use the college's e-book, dictionary and encyclopedia collections and how to locate print books in nearby libraries. Ideal for those new to the college, new to using the online library or doing college-level research.


    e. Research Skills for Grad Students

    [NOTE: Research Skills for Grad Students is designed specifically for those graduate students with recent experience doing in-depth academic level research. For those without this experience is highly recommended you take Research Skills 1 and 2 before taking this workshop.]

    This session will build on the skills covered in the first two Research Skills workshops, and discuss advanced research concepts, such as:

    • What does Graduate-level research look like?
    • Literature reviews
    • Finding dissertations & theses
    • Locating statistics and data sets
    • Grey literature and how to find it


    Have a suggestion for a workshop topic? Email us your suggestions.

    Subject Guide

    Dana Longley
    Normal Hours
    -Sun: 1-9 pm
    -Mon-Thu: 9am-9pm
    -Fri: 9am-5pm

    Phone: 800-847-3000, ext. 2222.
    or check our knowledgebase or submit a question via online form.