Skip to main content

Science, Math & Technology: Books, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Resources for the sciences, mathematics, and technology topics.

How to use this guide

 

  • Looking for e-books on a particular topic or for a particular ebook title? Below you will find our e-book collections. Select a collection and search there. This is the best way to do a subject search for e-books in the online library.
  • Looking for background information? Use dictionaries and encyclopedias in the online reference collection. Scroll to the bottom of the page to view our reference databases.

Ebook Central

Use the search below to look for e-books in our largest ebook collection: Ebook Central

Ebook
Central

WorldCat

Search for books, journals, etc. in other libraries.
WorldCat.org >>

Other affordable ways to get books

There are a number of options for obtaining books that aren't available through on the web or through the Empire State College Online Library's collection of ebooks.

E-Book Collections

Librarian

Heather Shalhoub's picture
Heather Shalhoub
Contact:
(800) 847-3000 x2222
http://www.esc.edu/askalibrarian


Normal Hours

Sun: 1 p.m. - 9 p.m.
Mon-Thu: 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
Fri: 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Summer Hours

June:

Sun: 1 p.m. - 5 p.m.
Mon-Thu: 9 a.m. - 7 p.m.
Fri: 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.

July - August:

Mon-Thu: 12 p.m. - 5 p.m.

Please note: Ask a Librarian is closed during the Spring, Summer and Winter breaks. Academic librarians from the Ask Us 24/7 consortium are available to help any time via chat when Ask a Librarian is closed.


Please note: If you need to request accommodations with content linked to on this guide, on the basis of a disability, please contact Disability Services by emailing them at Disability.Services@esc.edu.  Requests for accommodations should be submitted as early as possible to allow for sufficient planning. If you have questions, please visit the disability services website http://www.esc.edu/disabilityservices.

Reference Books FAQ

Why use reference books?

  • To get facts and numbers
  • To get an overview of a topic
  • To learn the specialized vocabulary

      Are reference books scholarly sources? Can I cite reference books in my paper?

      Reference books are only a starting point for research. They are not meant to be the actual sources on which you base your paper. Reference books survey and summarize the works of other scholars rather than presenting original research. They are valuable as an aid to understanding, but what you cite in your paper should be mostly scholarly journal articles and monographs (aka scholarly books.)

      Reference Databases

      These databases allow you to search for your topic across multiple reference sources.