Journal Article Databases
- Lock icon = ESC login req'd
- Globe icon = open web resource
- Academic Search Complete
Search thousands of journals and newspapers from many different fields. - AGing Integrated Database (AGID)
Administration of Aging-related data files & surveys, and Census data for comparison. Allows users to produce info in graphical or tabular form - Communication and Mass Media Complete
Abstracts for 600+ journals and full-text for 290+ titles. - Congressional Quarterly Researcher Archive
Archive (up to July 2012) issues in public policy; historical background, analysis, expert opinions. - CSSR Publications Search
Publications (some full-text) from the Center for Social Services Research, UC Berkeley. - CYFERnet
Search info on youth, family & community programs from US universities. - ERIC
Educational Resource Information Center. Over 1,000 education journals. - Full-Text Journal Finder
See if we have a specific journal title. - Google Scholar
Search Google Scholar thru the library and get some full-text links back into the library. - Health Management Database
Find information from leading publications covering all aspects of health administration. - JSTOR
Archived scholarly content (up to 3 years ago) in many disciplines. - MEDLINE with Full-Text
Search abstracts for 4,800+ biomedical journals. - ProQuest Psychology Journals
540+ full-text journals - ProQuest Research Library
Search for articles in hundreds of journals/newspapers. - PsycARTICLES
Psychology journals database. - Sage Journals Online
Journals in many different disciplines. Full-text 1999 - present. - Social Care Online
UK portal for info on social work & social care. - Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCOHost)
Search periodicals from a wide variety of social sciences including community health, family studies & social work.
Quick Search
Look for the Full-text @ ESC library or [PDF] link to the right of any result, if available. If you don't see that link, it may not be available (but it isn't perfect, so check journal holdings in our Journal Finder tool).
Search Tutorial
Peer-Review/Scholarly Articles FAQ
What are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?
- Author is usually expert in the field/discipline
- Content has been critically evaluated by other experts
- Information sources used by author are cited (works cited, bibliography or footnotes)
How can I find "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?
Many of the research databases listed on the left may include all scholarly material (JSTOR, Sage) or an option to limit your search to only scholarly/peer-reviewed articles. Scan the database's search page for this limit option.
More information:
Ask Your Librarians |
Contact Info Submit Question Online Phone: 1-800-847-3000 ext. 2222 Reference hours: -Su: 1pm-9pm -M-Th: 9am-9pm -Fr: 9am-5pm Send Email |
Using the Library with Mobile Devices
Is the Online Library compatible with my iPad? Kindle? Droid Phone? Blackberry? Other mobile device?
The answer is, it depends on your device and the library resource.
For information about each library database and e-book collection and how they work with mobile devices as well as information on available apps and how to read articles or e-books on your device, please visit http://www.esc.edu/library-mobile

Loading...
