Reference Tools FAQ
Why Use Reference Tools?
- Get a good overview and history of a topic, term or issue.
- Focus your topic and place it properly within context of the field of study
- Find alternate keywords to help locate relevant articles and books.
Can I Cite an Encyclopedia in my Paper?
Ask your instructor, but normally, encyclopedias provide insufficient information when researching a topic in the academic environment. Encyclopedias are not meant to be your only source for research. Instead, use them as a starting point to gain a basic understanding of the scope and terminology associated with your topic so that you can then begin in-depth research. Many entries do contain a "Further Reading" section, however, that you may find useful for locating more detailed information.
Credo Dictionary-Encyclopedia Search
History Reference Bookshelf
- American Civil War Reference Library
- American Decades
- American Decades Primary Sources
- American History through Literature: 1820-1870
- American History through Literature: 1870-1920
- American Revolution Reference Library
- Americans at War
- Ancient Europe 8000 B.C. to A.D. 1000: Encyclopedia of the Barbarian World
- Dictionary of American History
- Dictionary of the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict
- Encyclopaedia Judaica
- Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy
- Encyclopedia of European Social History
- Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity
- Encyclopedia of India
- Encyclopedia of Irish History and Culture
- Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender History in America
- Encyclopedia of Modern Asia
- Encyclopedia of Russian History
- Encyclopedia of the American Revolution: Library of Military History
- Encyclopedia of the Great Depression
- Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
- Encyclopedia of the New American Nation
- Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450
- Encyclopedia of World History
- Europe 1789-1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of Industry and Empire
- Europe Since 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of War and Reconstruction
- Europe, 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World
- Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History
- Historic Events for Students: The Great Depression
- History Behind the Headlines: The Origins of Conflicts Worldwide
- History of World Trade Since 1450
- Houghton Mifflin Encyclopedia of North American Indians
- Houghton Mifflin New Dictionary of Cultural Literacy
- Landmarks of the American Revolution: Library of Military History
- New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
- Oxford Companion to American Military History
- Oxford Companion to British History
- Oxford Companion to Military History
- Oxford Companion to United States History
- Oxford Companion to World War II
- Oxford Dictionary of British History
- Oxford Dictionary of Contemporary World History
- Oxford Dictionary of Local and Family History
- Oxford Dictionary of Political Biography
- Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World
- Oxford Dictionary of World History
- Reader's Companion to American History
- Renaissance: An Encyclopedia for Students
- St. James Encyclopedia of Labor History Worldwide
- The People's Chronology
Your Librarian |
Sarah MorehouseContact Info:
1-800-847-3000 ext. 2222
Ask a Librarian Hours:
-Sun: 1pm-9pm
-Mon-Thu: 9am - 9pm
-Fri: 9am-5pm
Send Email
Subjects:
historical studies, educational studies, business management & economics
1-800-847-3000 ext. 2222
Ask a Librarian Hours:
-Sun: 1pm-9pm
-Mon-Thu: 9am - 9pm
-Fri: 9am-5pm
Send Email
Subjects:
historical studies, educational studies, business management & economics
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait