United States Primary Sources on the Web
- Avalon Project at Yale Law School Documents relating to the history and politics of the American colonies.
- Documenting the American South Especially strong collection of slave narratives. Also Southern literature.
- Historical Census Browser State and county data for the decennial census from 1790 to 1960.
- Historical Publications of the United States Commission on Civil Rights
- Library of Congress Map Collections
- Library of Congress: American Memory Project Scanned documents and images, oral history recordings, music, film.
- National Archives and Records Administration Notable collections include World War II photographs and military service records.
- Smithsonian Institution Check out the Folkways Collection, the Photography Initiative, and the Archives of American Art.
- UVA Digital Collections (formerly the Electronic Text Center) Early American literature, English literature from the same period, African American literature. The Lewis and Clark and Westward Expansion collections are also of interest.
- Vincent Voice Library Clips of American political speeches.
World Primary Resources on the Web
- Africa Focus: Sights and Sounds of a Continent
- African National Congress Historical Documents Archive
- Cuban Heritage Collection
- Digital Library of the Caribbean
- EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History Transcriptions, translations, and scanned originals. Includes Eastern Europe and Russia.
- European History Primary Sources Attempts to be an exhaustive compilation of European history primary sources on the web.
- Herskovits Library of African Studies
- Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties
- Japanese Text Initiative In Kanji, Romaji, and English.
- Labyrinth Medieval European and Byzantine documents.
- National Security Archive at George Washington University Especially useful for documentation of secret operations in South Asia and Latin America in the 20th century, and more recent operations in the Middle East.
- Native American Documents Project
- Repositories of Primary Sources - Latin America and the Caribbean A collection of links to national archives throughout the Latin American and Caribbean world. Mostly Spanish language resources.
- Silk Road Narratives: A Collection of Historical Texts
- Southeast Asian Images and Texts
- Voyages: The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
- Zapatistas! Documents of the New Mexican Revolution Translated into English.
Your Librarian |
Sarah MorehouseContact Info:
1-800-847-3000 ext. 2222
Ask a Librarian Hours:
-Sun: 1pm-9pm
-Mon-Thu: 9am - 9pm
-Fri: 9am-5pm
Send Email
Subjects:
historical studies, educational studies, business management & economics
1-800-847-3000 ext. 2222
Ask a Librarian Hours:
-Sun: 1pm-9pm
-Mon-Thu: 9am - 9pm
-Fri: 9am-5pm
Send Email
Subjects:
historical studies, educational studies, business management & economics
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait