Reference Tools FAQ
Why Use Reference Tools?
- Get a good overview and history of a topic, term or issue.
- Focus your topic and place it properly within context of the field of study
- Find alternate keywords to help locate relevant articles and books.
Can I Cite an Encyclopedia in my Paper?
Ask your instructor, but normally, encyclopedias provide insufficient information when researching a topic in the academic environment. Encyclopedias are not meant to be your only source for research. Instead, use them as a starting point to gain a basic understanding of the scope and terminology associated with your topic so that you can then begin in-depth research. Many entries do contain a "Further Reading" section, however, that you may find useful for locating more detailed information.
Credo Dictionary-Encyclopedia Search
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Gale Virtual Reference Collection
250+ specialized encyclopedias covering many different topics and disciplines.
____________________________ - Child Development
Covers human development from conception through adolescence. - Encyclopedia of Sociology
A classic reference work in sociology. - Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology
650+ articles covering entire spectrum of psychology. - International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family
History of family life within cultures and how families have been affected by political and social change. - MedlinePlus
Authoritative health information from the National Library of Medicine. - Psychologists and Their Theories for Students
In-depth coverage of major psychological theories and the people who developed them. - World Poverty
Compilation of current and historical statistics with analysis on the topic of world poverty.
Ask a Librarian |
Dana LongleyChat live! with a Librarian: How to chatIf the Librarian is offline, try the online question form or phone # listed below.
Contact Info:
Submit a Question Online
Phone: 1-800-847-3000 ext. 2222
Reference hours:
-Sun: 1pm-9pm
-Mon-Thu: 9am - 9pm
-Fri: 9am - 5p
Send Email
Subjects:
Community and Human Services, Emergency and Fire Services, Health and Biology, Law and Criminal Justice, Nursing, Politics and Policy Studies
Submit a Question Online
Phone: 1-800-847-3000 ext. 2222
Reference hours:
-Sun: 1pm-9pm
-Mon-Thu: 9am - 9pm
-Fri: 9am - 5p
Send Email
Subjects:
Community and Human Services, Emergency and Fire Services, Health and Biology, Law and Criminal Justice, Nursing, Politics and Policy Studies
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait