Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Empire State College: State University of New York Skip navigation Home | Prospective Students | MyESC | Search Tools | Request Info

Community and Human Services  Tags: social_work social_services human_services social_welfare community_services  

Resources in human and social services, and social work.
Last update: Oct 02nd, 2009 URL: http://subjectguides.esc.edu/community  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Journals & Articles             Print Page
  

Journal Article Databases

  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Search 1000's of journals & newspapers covering most subjects.
  • JSTOR  
      
    Archived scholarly content (up to 3 years ago) in many disciplines.
  • ProQuest Social Science Search  
      
    Search journal, magazine & newspaper articles.
  • Sage Journals Online  
      
    Journals in many different disciplines. Full-text 1999 - present.
    ________________
  • AgeLine  
      
    Free bibliographic database (no full-text) for finding books, reports, articles on aging and the 50+ population.
  • Communication and Mass Media Complete  
      
    Abstracts for 600+ journals and full-text for 290+ titles.
  • Congressional Quarterly Researcher  
      
    In-depth look at current issues in public policy. Each topic includes historical background, analysis, expert opinions.
  • CSSR Publications Search  
      
    Publications (some full-text) from the Center for Social Services Research, UC Berkeley.
  • CYFERnet  
      
    Search practical, research-based information on youth, family & community programs from leading US universities.
  • ERIC  
      
    Educational Resource Information Center. Over 1,000 education journals.
  • Health Management Database  
      
    Find information from leading publications covering all aspects of health administration.
  • PsycARTICLES  
      
    134,000 full-text articles from 63 peer-reviewed journals.
  • PsycINFO  
      
    2.3 million peer-reviewed abstracts, dating as far back as the 1800s.
  • SocINDEX with Full Text  
      
    690+ full-text journals, 740+ books & 9,333 conference papers.
  • Full Text Journal Titles in the Social Sciences  
      
    Browse by subject and access full-text journals in the social sciences.
 
 

Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed FAQ

What are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?

  • Author is usually expert in the field/discipline
  • Content has been critically evaluated by other experts
  • Information sources used by author are cited (works cited, bibliography or footnotes)

How can I find "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?

Many of the research databases listed on the left may include all scholarly material (JSTOR, Sage) or an option to limit your search to only scholarly/peer-reviewed articles. Scan the database's search page for this limit option.

More information:


 

Search for Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles in EBSCOHost

Searches: Academic Search Premier, CINAHL, Communication and Mass media Complete, Education research Complete, ERIC, GenderStudies Database, PsycARTICLES, PsycINFO, and SocINDEX

 

 

Search ProQuest

ProQuest 
Enter your search terms:

 

 

Ask a Librarian

Profile ImageDana Longley

Chat live! with a Librarian: How to chatIf the Librarian is offline, try the online question form or phone # listed below.



Contact Info:
Submit a Question Online
Phone: 1-800-847-3000 ext. 2222
Reference hours:
-Sun: 1pm-9pm
-Mon-Thu: 9am - 9pm
-Fri: 9am - 5p
Send Email

Subjects:
Community and Human Services, Emergency and Fire Services, Health and Biology, Law and Criminal Justice, Nursing, Politics and Policy Studies

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait