Journal Article Databases
- Academic Search Complete
Search 1000's of journals & newspapers covering most subjects. - Communication and Mass Media Complete
Abstracts for 600+ journals & full-text for 290+. - Congressional Quarterly Electronic Library
Searchable access to legislative, public policy and social issue resources. - JSTOR
Full-text archive of scholarly journals. - Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Pro-con & journal articles on social & policy issues. - Points of View Reference Center
Pro & con essays on 255 topics. - ProQuest Journals and Newspapers
Search across thousands of journals and newspapers. - Sage Journals Online
450+ journals with many in policy studies and politics. Full-text 1999 - present. - SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOHost)
Sociology database. - U.S. Congressional Search Engine
Search Thomas Legislative site, U.S. House & Senate, CBO, GAO, OMB web sites, Washington Post , etc. - Full-text Journals in Law, Politics, and Government
Browse & access full-text journal titles available in the online library by topic.
Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed FAQ
What are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?
- Author is usually expert in the field/discipline
- Content has been critically evaluated by other experts
- Information sources used by author are cited (works cited, bibliography or footnotes)
How can I find "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?
Many of the research databases listed on the left may include all scholarly material (JSTOR, Sage) or an option to limit your search to only scholarly/peer-reviewed articles. Scan the database's search page for this limit option.
More information (curtesy of NCSU libraries):
Search for Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles in EBSCOHost
Searches: Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, CINAHL Plus, Communication and Mass Media Complete, Education Research Complete, ERIC, Gender Studies, MEDLINE, Military & Gov't Collection, SocINDEX
Search ProQuest
JSTOR Political Science Search
Ask a Librarian |
Dana LongleyChat live! with a Librarian: How to chatIf the Librarian is offline, try the online question form or phone # listed below.
Submit a Question Online
Phone: 1-800-847-3000 ext. 2222
Reference hours:
-Sun: 1pm-9pm
-Mon-Thu: 9am - 9pm
-Fri: 9am - 5p
Send Email
Subjects:
Community and Human Services, Emergency and Fire Services, Health and Biology, Law and Criminal Justice, Nursing, Politics and Policy Studies
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait