Reference Tools FAQ
Why Use Reference Tools?
- Get a good overview and history of a topic, term or issue.
- Focus your topic and place it properly within context of the field of study
- Find alternate keywords to help locate relevant articles and books.
Can I Cite an Encyclopedia in my Paper?
Ask your instructor, but normally, encyclopedias provide insufficient information when researching a topic in the academic environment. Encyclopedias are not meant to be your only source for research. Instead, use them as a starting point to gain a basic understanding of the scope and terminology associated with your topic so that you can then begin in-depth research. Many entries do contain a "Further Reading" section, however, that you may find useful for locating more detailed information.
Credo Dictionary-Encyclopedia Search
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
250+ searchable subject encyclopedias - Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Online collection of searchable and browsable philosophy texts - Religion and Philosophy Reference Works
12 searchable Oxford subject encyclopedias and dictionaries - Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
2,000+ searchable, in-depth articles from a multi-volume encyclopedia - Routledge Religion Resource
Dozens of searchable subject encyclopedias - Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Detailed encyclopedia covering philosophy, maintained by experts in the field
Your Librarian |
Quick Question? Chat Below:
Contact Info:
1-800-847-3000 ext. 2222
Ask a Librarian Hours:
-Sun: 1pm-9pm
-Mon-Thu: 9am - 9pm
-Fri: 9am-5pm
Send Email
Subjects:
Area and Cultural Studies, Arts and Art History, Language and Literature, Multidisciplinary Studies, Philosophy and Religion
1-800-847-3000 ext. 2222
Ask a Librarian Hours:
-Sun: 1pm-9pm
-Mon-Thu: 9am - 9pm
-Fri: 9am-5pm
Send Email
Subjects:
Area and Cultural Studies, Arts and Art History, Language and Literature, Multidisciplinary Studies, Philosophy and Religion
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait