Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Empire State College: State University of New York Skip navigation Home | Prospective Students | MyESC | Search Tools | Request Info

Admin Sign In 

Get Started / Multidisciplinary Studies  Tags: where_to_start multidisciplinary interdisciplinary  

Resources for interdisciplinary research with coverage of all subject areas. This is also a great starting place if you're unsure what subject to look in.
Last update: Sep 21st, 2009 URL: http://subjectguides.esc.edu/multidisciplinarystudies  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Journals and Articles             Print Page
  

Journal Article Databases

  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCOHost)  
      
    all fields/multidisciplinary
    Great place to start. Full text of 6,100 journals & newspapers with millions of articles in all subjects. [view tutorial]
  • Business Source Complete  
      
    Full text for 2,300+ journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, accounting, finance and economics.
  • JSTOR  
      
    Full-text of 320+ scholarly journals covering most disciplines (1800s to 3 years ago)
  • MasterFILE Premier (EBSCOHost)  
      
      all fields/multidisciplinary
      1,750 full-text general reference publications + books, bios, primary sources, images & maps.
  • ProQuest Research Library  
      
    Search more than 3,800 periodical titles
  • Sage Journals Online  
      
    450+ journals in science, technology, medicine, business, and social sciences. Full-text 1999 - present
  • ScienceDirect  
      
    700+ full-text journals covering science, business and the humanities
  • FReD (Full Text Retrieval Database)  
      
    Locate and access full-text journal titles in the Empire State College library collection
 
 

Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed FAQ

What are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?

  • Author is usually expert in the field/discipline
  • Content has been critically evaluated by other experts
  • Information sources used by author are cited (works cited, bibliography or footnotes)

How can I find "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?

Many of the research databases listed on the left may include all scholarly material (JSTOR, Sage) or an option to limit your search to only scholarly/peer-reviewed articles. Scan the database's search page for this limit option.

More information (curtesy of NCSU libraries):


 

Your Librarian

Profile ImageSara Hull

Quick Question? Chat Below:
How to chat
If the Librarian is offline, please ask your question using the online reference form or the other methods below.


Contact Info:
1-800-847-3000 ext. 2222
Ask a Librarian Hours:
-Sun: 1pm-9pm
-Mon-Thu: 9am - 9pm
-Fri: 9am-5pm
Send Email

Subjects:
Area and Cultural Studies, Arts and Art History, Language and Literature, Multidisciplinary Studies, Philosophy and Religion

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait