Journal Article Databases
- Academic Search Complete
Search 1000's of journals & newspapers covering most subjects. - Military & Government Collection
News and research on all branches of the military and government. - ScienceDirect
700+ full-text journals including some in fire and emergency sciences.
______________ - Building and Fire Research Publications database
3500+ document abstracts and full publications produced since 1993. Part of NIST. - Disaster Research Center Publications
Publications on social and behavioral aspects of disaster. - Earthquake Engineering Research Institute Mitigation Center Database
Information on ways to reduce losses from earthquakes. - FEMA Library
Searchable web-based collection of all publicly accessible FEMA information resources. - HazLit Database
Citations (no full-text) to journal articles, books, and reports on societal responses to natural hazards and catastrophic events. - Homeland Security Digital Library
Homeland security policy and strategy documents. Free registration (restricted to U.S. students and researchers) is required for access. - Tall Timbers Fire Ecology Database
Bibliographic index (no full-text) of fire ecology research and publications. - US Fire Administration - LRC Catalog
Search the emergency management & natural hazard literature. Includes some full-text.
Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed FAQ
What are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?
- Author is usually expert in the field/discipline
- Content has been critically evaluated by other experts
- Information sources used by author are cited (works cited, bibliography or footnotes)
How can I find "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?
Many of the research databases listed on the left may include all scholarly material (JSTOR, Sage) or an option to limit your search to only scholarly/peer-reviewed articles. Scan the database's search page for this limit option.
More information (curtesy of NCSU libraries):
Search for Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles in EBSCOHost
Searches: Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, CINAHL, Communication and Mass media, MEDLINE, Military & Gov't Collection, PsycARTICLES, PsycINFO, and SocINDEX:
Search ProQuest
Ask a Librarian |
Dana LongleyChat live! with a Librarian: How to chatIf the Librarian is offline, try the online question form or phone # listed below.
Contact Info:
Submit a Question Online
Phone: 1-800-847-3000 ext. 2222
Reference hours:
-Sun: 1pm-9pm
-Mon-Thu: 9am - 9pm
-Fri: 9am - 5p
Send Email
Subjects:
Community and Human Services, Emergency and Fire Services, Health and Biology, Law and Criminal Justice, Nursing, Politics and Policy Studies
Submit a Question Online
Phone: 1-800-847-3000 ext. 2222
Reference hours:
-Sun: 1pm-9pm
-Mon-Thu: 9am - 9pm
-Fri: 9am - 5p
Send Email
Subjects:
Community and Human Services, Emergency and Fire Services, Health and Biology, Law and Criminal Justice, Nursing, Politics and Policy Studies
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait