Reference Tools FAQ
Why Use Reference Tools?
- Get a good overview and history of a topic, term or issue.
- Focus your topic and place it properly within context of the field of study
- Find alternate keywords to help locate relevant articles and books.
Can I Cite an Encyclopedia in my Paper?
Ask your instructor, but normally, encyclopedias provide insufficient information when researching a topic in the academic environment. Encyclopedias are not meant to be your only source for research. Instead, use them as a starting point to gain a basic understanding of the scope and terminology associated with your topic so that you can then begin in-depth research. Many entries do contain a "Further Reading" section, however, that you may find useful for locating more detailed information.
Credo Dictionary-Encyclopedia Search
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Earth & Environmental Sciences
Oxford dictionaries on Geography, Weather etc. - Encyclopedia of the Earth
fully searchable collection of articles written by scholars, professionals, educators, and experts, written in non-technical language. - Fundamental Physical Constants
National Institute of Science and Technology's searchable database. - Gale Encyclopedias: Science
Searchable subject encyclopedias - search, or click Environment or Science section. - Physical Sciences & Mathematics
Oxford dictionaries on Astronomy, Chemistry, Physics and more. - Science Dictionaries
Oxford dictionaries on Genetics, Scientists, Statistics and more. - Science Reference Tools
Resources on Biology, Scientific and Technical Terms, Mathematics and more.
Subject Guide |
Ian HertzQuick Question? Chat Below:
Contact Info:
1-800-847-3000 ext. 2222
Ask a Librarian Hours:
-Sun: 1pm-9pm
-Mon-Thu: 9am - 9pm
-Fri: 9am-5pm
Send Email
Subjects:
Computers Information and Technology, Math and Physical Sciences
1-800-847-3000 ext. 2222
Ask a Librarian Hours:
-Sun: 1pm-9pm
-Mon-Thu: 9am - 9pm
-Fri: 9am-5pm
Send Email
Subjects:
Computers Information and Technology, Math and Physical Sciences
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait