This is the "Home" page of the "@ Home Library Workshops" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Empire State College: State University of New York Skip navigation Home | Prospective Students | MyESC | Search Tools | Request Info

@ Home Library Workshops   Tags: @home, elluminate, help, workshops  

Live, hands-on, online classes given by the college's librarians.
Last Updated: Apr 15, 2014 URL: http://subjectguides.esc.edu/workshops Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Why take a library workshop?

    • save time and effort on doing your research.
    • use the library more effectively and efficiently.
    • get a leg up on doing superior research using scholarly resources.
    • learn how to use the online library from the comfort of home
        We use Blackboard Collaborate as our online, live classroom platform. It has text chat, whiteboard, screensharing and computer headset audio capabilities for collaboration and communication.

        Screenshot of Collaborate software

           

          Upcoming Dates & Registration

          How to register:

          1. Check that your computer and browser is compatible with the webinar software (failure to do so may prevent your participation)
          2. Check that your computer meets minimum system requirements (ver 12.5) [note: Windows 8 machines using the Internet Explorer browser will not work]. Also helps to know how to copy-paste (view copy-paste tutorial)
          3. Click on the "Register" link next to the date you want, then enter your name and email and choose the date you want to register for from the list. The URL for the workshop is located on the registration page and will be sent in a reminder email the day of the workshop.

          Spring 2014 Schedule: For help, Ask a Librarian

          [Note: some browsers (Google Chrome) ask you for a Goggle Mail account when you register. You don't need it: try accessing w/ Firefox or send email with your sign up day/time and name to: dana.longley@esc.edu instead]

          • Mon, 5/5, 6:30 - 8 pm: Citing Your Sources (instructor: Sara Hull) Register

          There will be a very small set of workshop dates offered this Summer. Check back in May for those dates.

             

            Participation Requirements

            IMPORTANT: you must successfully complete all technical and set-up requirements below before registering

            Minimum Technical Requirements:

            1. Check Compatibility and minimum system requirements (note: microphone or headset NOT required). If you encounter problems, view Common Issues Encountered
            2. Internet connection speed: broadband recommended
            3. Listening options:
              • computer speakers
              • or headphones (microphone optional) or headset
              • or telephone (calling charges from your carrier may apply)
            4. Talking options:
              • computer microphone or headset
              • or no talking (text-chat only): if you do not have a microphone or headset to speak into, you can communicate using text chat only
              • or telephone (calling charges from your carrier may apply)


            Set-Up Requirements:

            1. PRIOR to registering make sure your computer works properly with Blackboard Collaborate. Go to the Collaborate Support site (you can do this anytime prior to registering)

            NOTE: technical support for Collaborate is NOT provided by the College.

            If you encounter a technical problem, go to:

            If you need to request accommodations on the basis of a disability, please contact Disability Services @ x2201 or Disability.Services@esc.edu) when you register. The library workshops use a combination of visual and audio media that may necessitate the use of accommodations. Requests for accommodations should be submitted as early as possible to allow for sufficient planning. If you have questions, please visit the disability services website (http://www.esc.edu/disabilityservices) or contact the office at x2201 or disability.services@esc.edu. Return to navigation links

               

              Workshop Descriptions

              a. Research Skills 1:

               You will learn how to:

              • Efficiently navigate the library site
              • Create a search strategy from a research topic
              • Search for journal articles
              • Use powerful search results page options

              How to effectively and efficiently do research and navigate the college's online library, which includes searchable access to millions of full-text journal & newspaper articles and other resources. Ideal for those new to the college, new to using the online library or doing college-level research. Optional: bring your own research topic to work on.

               

              b. Research Skills 2:

              [NOTE: Research Skills 2 is designed for those who have already taken Research Skills 1 above. It is highly recommended you take Research Skills 1 before taking this workshop.]

              This session will build on the search skills covered in the first workshop, and discuss other time-saving research skills, such as citation mining,  how to evaluate information to get a sense of its quality, and what to do with those tasty nuggets of information once you find them.

               

              c. Citing Your Sources:  

              TOPICS COVERED:

              • Why cite?
              • What is a citation?
              • Parts of a citation
              • MLA vs APA style
              • Knowing your source
              • Documentation tips

              Learn why citing your sources is so important and where to get citation formatting information for styles such as APA, MLA, etc. Ideal for anyone interested in learning how to avoid accidental plagiarism.

              c. Books, Reference & Multimedia:

              You will learn how to:

              • Use the library e-book catalog  
              • Search the full-text of specific e-book collections 
              • Use annotation, save and print options for e-books 
              • Locate print books (and journals) at nearby libraries using WorldCatSearch
              • Search in our streaming video and image collections

              How to effectively navigate, search and use the college's e-book and multimedia collections and how to locate print books in nearby libraries. Ideal for those new to the college, new to using the online library or doing college-level research.

               

              f. Managing Your Citations with RefWorks 1:

              You can manage your citations with RefWorks. In this workshop, learn what RefWorks is, how it can be used and create your own RefWorks account.  Get an introduction to navigating RefWorks, features available and the basics of how to import References into your RefWorks account.  Essential for those who are new to RefWorks and want to learn what it is and how to use it. 

               

              g. Managing Your Citations with RefWorks 2:

              NOTE: You must take Managing Your Citations with RefWorks 1 (or have already created a login for RefWorks and have some experience using the account) prior to taking this workshop.

              Learn how to use advanced features in RefWorks such as importing resources into RefWorks from multiple library databases and e-book collections and creating a bibliography for your assignments. Essential to those who already have a RefWorks account and want to know more about how to use the advanced features.  If you do not already have a RefWorks account, please sign up for one prior to taking this workshop OR take the Managing Your Citations with RefWorks 1 workshop if you want more guidance. 

               

              Have a suggestion for a workshop topic? Email us your suggestions.

              Ask Your Librarians

              Profile Image
              Your Librarians

              Contact Info
              Submit Question Online
              Phone: 1-800-847-3000 ext. 2222
              Reference hours:
              -Su: 1pm-9pm
              -M-Th: 9am-9pm
              -Fr: 9am-5pm
              Send Email
               
              Description

              Loading  Loading...

              Tip