Telecommuting
Telecommuting allows you the opportunity to work from home or from another location outside the traditional office environment. The resources below will help you to determine what is involved with telecommuting, and if this form of work is for you.
- Telecommuting - Telework and Alternative Officing For the career researcher, this resource provides information on researching telecommuting as well as exploring whether this form of work is right for you.
- Telecommuting - Teleworking Tap these resources to help you land employment in a telecommuting job or to help convince your current employer to give you a telecommuting benefit.
Moving
Quality of life issues reflect not only the geographic location of your line of work (urban center, rural setting, etc.), but also how the particular culture of the workplace can impact your personal and family life.
- CNNMoney.com: Best Places to Live Money Magazine's annual list of top residential communities. This resource also has a searchable database of 300 residential areas, ranked by your own criteria.
- MoversNet Online relocation advice from the United States Postal Service.
- Moving.com - Moving Center Formerly VirtualRelocation.com, this directory of online resources relates to cost of living issues, moving expenses, apartments, real estate, city guides, etc.
- RealEstateJournal.com - Relocation Tools From the publishers of the Wall Street Journal, select - articles on the various issues concerning relocating.
- Sperling's Best Places Compare cost of living, homes, crime, climate, and schools for any town or zip code in the United States. There is a quiz to take to be matched to your "best place" to live.
Negotiating
The career choices you make will affect your quality of life. When offered a job, you must assess the compensation package that your job prospect offers. In most cases you are expected to negotiate your pay or benefits with your prospective employer. Bear in mind that employers vary in the amount of latitude or flexibility they have to negotiate.
- Salary Negotiation and the Job Offer Tutorial
- Successful Job Offer Negotiation From CollegeGrad.com.
Salary
The resources below will help you to identify salary ranges in your career field and provide advice on how to determine what you're worth.
- America's Career Info Net Salary data for various jobs and careers for all 50 states.
- Career Guide to Industries Companion to the Occupational Outlook Handbook put out by the U.S. Department of Labor. Information on earnings for jobs within all major industries. Use this resource to get an idea of what a person entering your field can expect to make in your region.
- DataMasters - Cost of Living Analysis Calculates comparisons between costs of living expenses for various U.S. cities and metropolitan areas.
- JobStar - Salary Surveys Over 300 online salary surveys for various professions.
- The Salary Expert Salary surveys for hundreds of industries and positions within them.
Benefits
Next to your salary, benefits are the second-biggest factor in your compensation. Common benefits include vacation and sick leave, health insurance (possibly including dental and vision), disability insurance, life insurance, pension plans, 401(k) plans, and stock options.
- BenefitsLink (tm) - The National Employee Benefits Web Site Directory of web sites related to most aspects of employee benefits. Also includes benefits-related news stories and government regulatory information.
- Business Week Online: Making the Most of Your Stock Options
- Examine Your Priorities University of Iowa Career Center checklist for help determing what's most important to you in seeking a job, with details on types of benefits and questions to ask potential employers about what's available.
- Life Advice About 401(k) Plans for Retirement From the Consumer Information Center in Pueblo, CO, this online pamphlet summarizes your options regarding both 401 (k) and 403 (b) retirement plans.
- National Center for Employee Ownership This private, nonprofit research organization provides information on employee stock ownership plans (ESOPs), broadly rated employee stock options, and employee participation programs.
- Your Guide to Choosing Quality Health Care This consumer guide, produced by the Agency for Health Care Policy and Research, provides guidelines for selecting the right health plan that best fits your current needs.
Your Librarian |
Sarah Morehouse1-800-847-3000 ext. 2222
Ask a Librarian Hours:
-Sun: 1pm-9pm
-Mon-Thu: 9am - 9pm
-Fri: 9am-5pm
Send Email
Subjects:
historical studies, educational studies, business management & economics
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait