Grad School?
Many careers don't require an advanced degree, but some do. In other fields, having one isn't necessary but is an advantage. These resources will help you decide whether you need to pursue graduate education, and if so, how and where.
- Applying to Graduate School This essay provides information regarding when and how to prepare for the graduate school application process. Produced by the Career Services Office at the Catholic University of America.
- Grad School - Things to Think About From JobWeb, a brief article on things to take into consideration if you're contemplating going to grad school.
- Grad Schools Online directory of various graduate programs throughout the nation. You can search the directory by subject, school or keyword.
- Graduate School Tips Information on choosing, getting into, and making the most of graduate school.
- Interviewing for Graduate School From the Career Services Office at the Catholic University of America, this essay provides sample questions to ask when visiting graduate colleges.
- Petersons - The Graduate School Channel This resource provides information regarding locating, applying and financing graduate education as well as articles to aid in deciding on postgraduate education.
- Princeton Review - Graduate Information regarding entrance exams, the transition to the graduate school culture and locating graduate programs.
Which Career Field?
Occupational analysis concerns the research of facts, demographics and statistical information regarding your selected career. Information may include any prerequisite education, salary potential, job descriptions, etc.
- America's Career Info Net Interactive occupational analysis tools for investigating various career summaries and demographics..
- Ferguson Career Guidance Center Industry overviews, career descriptions, etc.
- Hopkins Career and Life Planning Center - Information Interviewing From the Johns Hopkins University School of Professional Studies in Business and Education, this resource provides a step-by-step process for conducting an information interview.
- How to Explore Careers through Informational Interviewing From JobTrak. A quick and simple guide to using an information interview to get an impression and gather facts of an industry, a particular organization, and a position.
- Informational Interviewing and Networking Guide to conducting an information interview from the Univ. of Wisconsin Milwaukee Career Development Center.
- Informational Interviewing: Get the Inside Scoop on Careers An article discussing the value of informational interviews for exploring career possibilities and networking. It gives advice on how to make the initial contact and set up the interview, keep the interview relaxed yet focused, and follow up.
- Job Profiles Testimonials and descriptions of careers from the very practitioners themselves.
- Occupational Outlook Handbook For all listed careers, descriptive summaries provide information on the nature of the work, working conditions, earnings, educational requirements, etc.
- Occupational Outlook Quarterly Government periodical providing tips for career planning and job hunting.
- Sai Careers A large, well-organized commercial site devoted to bringing together job hunting advice and information, economic indicators, recruiters and postings, etc.
- Successful Career Planning Discusses the six steps of the career planning process.
- Vocational and Careers Collection 350 full-text trade & industry-related periodicals covering a wealth of professions.
Your Librarian |
Sarah MorehouseContact Info:
1-800-847-3000 ext. 2222
Ask a Librarian Hours:
-Sun: 1pm-9pm
-Mon-Thu: 9am - 9pm
-Fri: 9am-5pm
Send Email
Subjects:
historical studies, educational studies, business management & economics
1-800-847-3000 ext. 2222
Ask a Librarian Hours:
-Sun: 1pm-9pm
-Mon-Thu: 9am - 9pm
-Fri: 9am-5pm
Send Email
Subjects:
historical studies, educational studies, business management & economics
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait