Journal Article Databases
This is an alphabetical list of the library's databases. This tab lists databases that contain journal articles. Other tabs list other types of resources - e-books, reference tools, newspapers, videos, etc.
If you are looking for collections of library resources for researching a certain topic, go to the Subject Guides.
- ABI/INFORM (ProQuest)business & economics
Search local, national & international business, economic, management & company publications.
Click here for the How To
College login required - Academic OneFile (Gale)
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCOHost)all subjects
Lots of full-text scholarly articles in all subjects - great place to start your research.
Click here for the how to." target="_blank">Click here for the How To
College login required - ACM Digital Library Portalcomputers & technology.
Journal articles from the Association for Computing Machinery.
College login required - AGRICOLAagriculture
Agriculture journal articles - no full-text in the database (but you can get the full-text elsewhere.)
Free Access - Alberta Gambling Research Institute Repositorypsychology, social science
Formerly known as the Gambling Literature Online Index.
Articles and reports on gambling.
Free Access - Alt HealthWatch (EBSCOHost)health
Full-text journal articles and reports on complementary & alternative health care.
Click here for the how to.
College login required - America: History & Life (EBSCOHost)history
Scholarly articles on history in the US and Canada, from prehistory to the present. This is the best database to search for American history topics.
Click here for the how to.
College login required - Annual Reviews - Social Sciencessocial sciences
Scholarly reports on important issues and topics in the social sciences. Be aware that your search results will contain content that we don't have access to.
College login required - AnthroSourceculture
Full-text articles on anthropology.
College login required - Applied Science and Technology (EBSCOHost)science, technology, engineering
Scholarly and trade/professional journals in applied science and technology fields like computer science, acoustics, aeronautics, electrical engineering, and more.
Click here for the How To
College login required - Art Abstracts (EBSCOHost)
- Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy (Yale)history, law, politics, economics
Primary source documents.
Public Domain resources - Biography Reference Center (EBSCOHost)biography, all subjects
Biographical information on notable people, both contemporary and historical.
Click here for the How To
College login required - Bioline Internationalscience, health
Scholarly articles in biology, published in the developing world.
Free Access - Black Thought and Culture (Alexander Street Press)area studies
Non-fiction works written by African Americans.
College login required - Building and Fire Publicationsfire & emergency
Reports and articles from NIST.
Free Access - Business and Company ASAP (Gale)business
Scholarly and non-scholarly articles on business as well as company, industry and market reports.
College login required - Business Insights: Essentials (Gale)business
[formerly "Business & Company Resource Center"] Company profiles, histories and chronologies; investment reports; business news.
College login required - Business Source Complete (EBSCOHost)business & economics
Scholarly and non-scholarly articles on business, management and economics. The best place to start your business/economics research.
Click here for the How To.
College login required - Child Care and Early Education Research Connectionseducation, human development
Reports and articles on child care and early education.
Free Access - CINAHL Plus with Full-Text (EBSCOHost)health
The best place to start your search for nursing/health topics.
Click here for the How To.
College login required - CollegeSource Onlinedegree planning, career
College and university catalogs and web sites, from the US and other countries.
Click here for the How To.
College login required - Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)government, policy studies
Papers on theory and research in international affairs (1991 - present).
College login required - Communication and Mass Media Complete (EBSCOHost)communications & media
Scholarly and non-scholarly articles on communication and media topics.
Click here for the tutorial
College login required - Computer Source (EBSCOHost)computers & technology
Scholarly and non-scholarly articles on computer science topics.
Click here for the How To
College login required - Computers & Applied Sciences Complete (EBSCOHost)computers & technology
Scholarly and non-scholarly articles on computer science and technology topics.
Click here for the How To
College login required - Conference Board Business Knowledge Researchbusiness
Business reports, podcasts and webcasts.
College login required - Congressional Quarterly Electronic Librarypolitics & policy
Government policy reports.
College login required - CYFERnet: Children, Youth & Families Education & Research Networkhuman development
Practical information and research reports about families, young people and community programs.
Free Access - Daily Life through History (ABC-CLIO)history & culture
Videos and audio resources about culture and history.
Click here for the How To.
College login required - DART-Europe E-theses Portalall subjects
Access to 412196 open access research theses from 535 Universities in 27 European countries
Free access - Directory of Open-Access Journalsall subjects
Full-text, scholarly articles.
A mix of Free Access and Creative Commons resources - Discovering American Women's History Onlinehistory, women & gender
Primary sources in women's history.
A mix of Free Access and Public Domain resources - Dissertations & Theses: Humanities and Social Sciences (ProQuest)all subjects
Full-text dissertations and theses.
College login required - DOE Information Bridgescience, technology
Reports from the U.S. Department of Energy.
Public Domain resources - EBSCOHostall subjects
Pick two or more EBSCOhost databases to search at the same time.
Click here for the How To
College login required - Education & Information Technology Library (AACE)education, computers & technology
Articles and conference papers from the Association for the Advancement of Computing in Education.
College login required - Education Research Complete (EBSCOHost)education
Full-text, scholarly articles plus curriculum materials.
Click here for the How To
College login required - Educational Full-text (EBSCOHost)education
Full-text, scholarly articles in education topics. Particularly strong in adult education, multicultural education and special education.
Click here for the How To
College login required - Energy & Power Source (EBSCOHost)science, technology
Full-text scholarly, popular, and trade/professional articles about the energy industry including conventional and alternative/green energy sources from both a technical and business point of view.
Click here for the How To
College login required - Entrepreneurial Studies Source (EBSCOHost)business
Articles, case studies, company profiles and videos from the Harvard Seminar Series.
Click here for the How To
College login required - Environment Complete (EBSCOHost)science
Articles on agriculture, energy, marine sciences, geography, urban planning & environmental science.
Click here for the How To
College login required - ERIC (EBSCOHost)education
Articles and reports on education, learning and child development.
Click here for the How To
College login required - eScholarship Repository (U of California)all subjects
Scholarly articles and reports.
A mix of Free Access and Creative Commons resources - Ethnic Newswatch (ProQuest)culture
Articles from journals, newspapers, and magazines published by ethnic and minority presses.
Click here for the How To
College login required - EThOS: Electronic Theses from the UKAll subjects
Search and access tens of thousands of theses from the UK.
Free Access - Faulkner Advisory for IT Studiescomputers
Reports in computers, information systems, information technology management.
College login required - Ferguson Career Guidance Centercareer
Industry overviews, career profiles, scholarships, college academic programs, technical and professional school programs.
College login required - Film Literature Index (Indiana University)film
Articles in film studies, film reviews. No full-text, but you can get the full-text in some of our other databases.
Free Access - FindLaw: Cases and Codeslaw
State & federal statutory law, case law, etc.
Mix of Free Access and Public Domain - Gale Databasesall subjects
Select two or more Gale databases to search at the same time.
College login required - Gender Studies Database (EBSCOHost)gender, sexuality
Articles in gender studies and sexual diversity.
Click here for the How To
College login required - GenderWatch (ProQuest)gender, sexuality
Articles in gender studies and sexual diversity.
Click here for the How To.
College login required - General OneFile (Gale)all subjects
Articles in all subjects.
College login required - Google Scholarall subjects
Know the title of the article you're looking for? Use this tool to search for it (in quotes.) You can also use this tool to search for scholarly articles across multiple databases and in institutional repositories.
Click here for the How To.
A mix of Free Access, Creative Commons, and College Login resources. - GPO Accesspolitics & policy studies
Government Printing Office - documents produced by US agencies & departments.
Public Domain resources - GreenFILE (EBSCOHost)
- Harpweekhistory
Full-text of Harpers Weekly (magazine) from the Civil War period.
College login required - Health Care Innovations Exchange (U.S. Dept. of Health & Human Services)health
Articles and reports in developments in the technology, practice and business of health care.
Free Access - Health Source - Consumer Edition (EBSCOHost)
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCOHost)health, nursing
Scholarly articles in nursing and allied health.
Click here for the How To
College login required - Historical Abstracts (EBSCOHost)history
Articles in history. For US and Canda history, use America: History and Life. For history before 1450 CE, use JSTOR, Academic Search Complete and ProQuest Research Library..
Click here for the How To
College login required - Humanities Full-text (EBSCOHost)arts, literature, culture
Scholarly articles, works of fiction and poetry, book reviews, interviews and reviews of ballets, plays, operas, TV shows, etc.
Click here for the How To
College login required - Humanities International Complete (EBSCOHost)humanities
Articles in the humanities (literature, arts, history, philosophy, etc.)
Click here for the How To
College login required - In The First Person (Alexander Street Press)history
Letters, diaries, oral histories from around the world (all in English.)
College login required - Info-Sci Online (IGI Global)computers, information science
Articles, case studies, book chapters in information science and information technology.
College login required - Journal Finderall subjects
Know the title of the journal you're looking for? This is the tool to find it.
Click here for the How To.
A mix of Free Access, Creative Commons, and College login resources. - JSTORall subjects
JSTOR does not have articles from the past year or two!!!
Articles in all subjects. Especially good for ancient history, literature, film studies, mathematics, environmental science, African American studies.
Click here for the How To.
College login required
Free Access for the public to most JSTOR content here - http://about.jstor.org/individuals - LGBT Life with Full-text (EBSCOHost)culture, gender
Scholarly, popular and newspaper articles as well as a number of important scholarly books about gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender and queer studies.
Click here for the How To
College login required - Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full-Text (EBSCOHost)information science
Articles in information science and information technology.
Click here for the How To
College login required - Literature Resources from Galeliterature
Includes MLA International Bibliography.
Literary criticism and literature articles. Author biographies. Overviews of literary works.
College login required - Making of America (Cornell University)history
Articles and primary sources in 19th century American social history.
Free Access - MasterFILE Premier (EBSCOHost)all subjects
Articles, online reference books, and primary sources.
Click here for the How To
College login required - MEDLINE with Full-Text (EBSCOHost)health
The best database for articles in medical research.
Click here for the How To
College login required - Mergent Onlinebusiness
This is the best place to look for company, industry, and country business reports. Has both US and non-US companies. Has SEC filings and annual reports.
Click here for the How To.
College login required - Military & Government Collection (EBSCOHost)government, military
Articles, primary sources, and news in government and military.
Click here for the How To
College login required - MLA International Bibliography (Gale)
- MSU Global Access - currently unavailablearea studies & culture
Reports and primary sources on countries and regions of the world. - Nathanson Centre on Transnational Human Rights, Crime, and Security (York University)criminal justice
Formerly known as the Organized Crime and Corruption Bibliographic Database
Articles and books on organized crime (no full-text.)
Free Access - National Academies Pressall subjects
Government reports and e-books.
Mix of Free Access and Public Domain resources - National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstractscriminal justice
Summaries (and sometimes full-text) of criminal justice publications
Mix of Free Access and Public Domain resources - National Science Digital Libraryeducation
Teaching and learning resources for all levels of science, technology, engineering, & math education.
Free Access - National Service Center for Environmental Publicationenvironment
Full-text publications from the US Environmental Protection Agency.
Mix of Free Access and Public Domain resources - North American Women's Letters and Diaries (Alexander Street Press)history
Letters & diaries from North American women from colonial times to 1950.
College login required - Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)all subjects, policy studies
Formerly known as Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center.
Pro and con essays, articles and primary sources on controversial issues.
Click here for the How To.
College login required - Pew Research Centerpolicy studies
Information on political issues, attitudes and trends. Pew calls itself a "non-partisan fact-tank."
Free Access - POPLinehealth
Articles in reproductive health.
Free Access - PrimateLit Databasebiology
Articles in the biology of primates.
Free Access - ProQuest Databasesall subjects
Select two or more ProQuest databases to search at the same time.
Click here for the How to.
College login required - ProQuest Health Managementhealth
Articles in health administration and public health.
Click here for the How to.
College login required - ProQuest Research Libraryall subjects
Scholarly and popular articles in all subjects. This is a great place to start your research.
Click here for the How to.
College login required - PsycARTICLES (EBSCOHost)psychology
Full-text, scholarly articles in all aspects of psychology. This is the best place for psychology, behavioral science and human development research.
Click here for the How To
College login required - PsycINFO (EBSCOHost)psychology
Articles, reports, and e-books in psychology.
Click here for the How To
College login required - Religion & Philosophy Collection (EBSCOHost)philosophy & religion
Articles in religion and philosophy.
Click here for the How To
College login required - Sage Journals OnlinePlease consult the How To first! Some journal titles, and any journal issues from before 1999 are not available in full-text. Whenever you are searching in Sage Journals Online, you should limit your search to Sage Journals Available To Me and have the Date Range start at Jan 1999.
all subjects, business
Articles in all subjects. Particularly good for business.
Click here for the How to.
College login required - ScienceDirectscience, business
Full-text, scholarly articles in the sciences and business. This is the best place for research in science.
Click here for the How To
College login required - Scirusscience
Articles, web sites, patents, etc. in the sciences. - Social Sciences with Full-text (EBSCOHost)policy studies, psychology, sociology
Full-text scholarly articles about social science concepts and methods.
Click here for the How To
College login required - SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOHost)sociology
Scholarly, full-text articles in sociology, social work, and social psychology. Start here for research about the family, the community, or the workplace.
Click here for the How To
College login required - SUMSearch - medical evidence searchhealth
Articles and reports in medical research.
Free Access - Terrorism Information Center eDocumentspolicy studies
Articles, reports and primary sources in the study of terrorism.
Free Access - Theses CanadaAll subjects
Search and access thousands of electronic theses from Canadian Universities.
Free access - U.S. Congressional Search Enginegovernment, policy studies
Proceedings of the US Congress, Government Accounting Office, and other major federal agencies that are involved in lawmaking and policy.
Mix of Free Access and Public Domain resources - Vocational and Career Collection (EBSCOHost)
- Westlaw Next (formerly Westlaw Campus)law
Federal and state statutory law, case law, regulations and constitutions; law journals.
Click here for the tutorial.
College login required - Women and Social Movements in the U.S. - Scholar's Edition (Alexander Street Press)history
Articles and primary sources in the history of women's involvement in US reform movements (abolitionism, temperance, suffrage, etc.)
College login required - World Wide Sciencescience
Articles in the sciences from US and non-US sources.
Free Access
Your Librarians |


Loading...
