Skip to main content

How To Find Journals: How To Find Journals

This is NOT about how to find an article on a topic, or an article when you know its title. It is about how to find a journal when you know its title. (Articles are contained within journals.)

How To Find Journals

Journal Finder helps you locate and access journal articles in the Online Library. It is also sometimes called Full-text Journal Finder or FReD.

  • You can find out whether the Online Library has access to a specific journal.
  • You can browse a list of available journals, either by subject or by title.  

Before You Begin

Learn how to access the college's research databases and how to enter your college login at How To Access Library Databases

Access

  1. Go to the Online Library at www.esc.edu/library
  2. Click Journal Finder in the first column.
  3. In the top left menu, select either New Search to search by title, or Publications to browse by subject area. 
    Screenshot of the top of the Journal Finder start page. There is a menu going across the top. The menu items on the left are New Search, Publications, and Library. On the right, the menu items are Sign In, Folder, Preferences, Language, new features, and Help. Below that menu is the search box, which is set to Keyword Search by default. Beneath the search box are links for Search Options, Basic Search (which is already selected,) Advanced Search, and Search History.

New Search (to look up a journal by title)

Click New Search in that top left menu.

Use the drop-down menu next to the search box to select Title. Type in the journal's title, or the first few words of the title. It will try to autocomplete what you type with the titles of journals that we have in our collection.

Screenshot of the Journal Finder main page, centered on the search box. On the left side of the search box there is a drop down menu with the options Keyword, Title, and Author. Title is selected. There is a search button to the right of the search box.

Publications (to browse for journals on a particular subject)

Click Publications in that top left menu. 

You will have a search box at the top of the page, and beneath it is a section called Browse By Discipline. This is an alphabetical list of subject areas. Next to each subject area, in parentheses, is the number of full-text online journals we have in that subject area. 

Screenshot of the Publications page of Journal Finder. At the top is a search box. Below that it says Publications, and then Browse By Discipline. In a box below that there is an alphabetical list of links to lists of journals in different subject areas such as Agriculture & Agribusiness, Anatomy & Physiology, Anthropology, Applied Sciences, Architecture, and so on.

Click the one you want and you will be taken to a search results list of journals in that subject area, with options to narrow down your results on the left side of the list.  

Results List

When you use New Search to look up a journal title, or Publications to look up journals in a subject area, you will get a results list. 

The journals in the results list are listed alphabetically.

  • Underneath each journal is a link to find Full Text Access to that publication.
  • Underneath some of the journals is a search box. This allows you to look up an article title within the journal, or look up articles containing certain keywords within the journal. 

On the left side is the Refine Results menu column.

  • You can click the checkbox to limit the results list to just Peer Reviewed Journals.
  • You can click the checkbox for a particular Subject, which means a subset of the subject you are already searching. For example, here we are in Language & Literature Journals, and there are 338 of them. One way you could narrow it down would be to select Literature & Writing Journals - there are only 13 in that sub-topic. 

Screenshot of the Journal Finder search results list. There is a search box at the top of the page. The main (right side) column below that shows all of the journals in that subject area, listed alphabetically. Underneath each journal is a link to Full-text Access. Underneath some of them there is a search box to Search Within Publication (in otherwords, search for your keywords or for article titles within that journal.) To the left of the search results list is a Refine Results menu column. You can limit your results to Peer Reviewed Journals. Below that, you can limit your results by subject, which means a smaller sub-set within the subject you already put in. For example, this is Language & Linguistics, and some of the ways you can narrow it down are Foreign Language Learning, Speech-Language Pathology, and Literature and Writing.

 

Full Text Access

Under the journal that you want, click the Full Text Access link to expand a list of databases that have issues from that journal. There may be more than one database that has this journal.

  • Sometimes one database will have earlier issues and another database will have later issues. You can see that from the date range next to the name of the database. For instance, "ProQuest Education Journals 03/01/2001-present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)
  • Often issues published before the 1990s are not available online, because they were not "born digital" and have not been digitized yet. 
  • Sometimes issues published in the past year or two are not available online, because publishing companies restrict online access to them until they are somewhat out of date. 

Screenshot of part of the Journal Finder results list after the Full Text Access link has been clicked. It shows that for this journal, Applied Psycholinguistics, there are four databases that have issues, and it shows what the range of dates that the database has for that journal.

Click on the database to view the contents of the journal inside that database. Below is AANA Journal inside an EBSCOhost database. Things will look different if you click on a database from another vendor, such as ProQuest, JSTOR, ScienceDirect, etc. But you will always have two options:

  • Search within the journal, either for articles by title, articles by author, or for articles containing your keywords.
  • Browse the journal year by year and issue by issue.

Marked up screenshot of a journal record in EBSCOhost

Your Librarians

Sarah Morehouse's picture
Sarah Morehouse

Please note: If you need to request accommodations with content linked to on this guide, on the basis of a disability, please contact Disability Services by emailing them at Disability.Services@esc.edu.  Requests for accommodations should be submitted as early as possible to allow for sufficient planning. If you have questions, please visit the disability services website http://www.esc.edu/disabilityservices.

Contact:
(800) 847-3000 x2222

Hours of operation:
* Mon-Thu 9-9
* Fri 9-5
* Sun 1-9

Search our FAQ or email us a question