Search tools and information sources for researching labor history, labor unions, labor laws, and the sociology of work.
Last Updated: Jan 16, 2013
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOHost)
This database is useful for looking up all-scholarly articles on topics having to do with workplace discrimination, working conditions, employment issues in society, and how people fit in and interact at work.
Business Source Complete (EBSCOHost)
While this database has a business perspective, it is useful for looking up articles about human resources topics related to labor studies.
America: History & Life (EBSCOHost)
This database is especially useful for researching labor history in the United States.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCOHost)
This database is useful for researching labor history worldwide.
Westlaw Next (formerly Westlaw Campus)
This database is useful for searching for articles about labor law in legal journals, as well as labor statutes and court cases.
Click here for the How To. JSTOR all subjects
JSTOR does not have articles from the past year or two!!!
Articles in all subjects. Especially good for ancient history, literature, film studies, mathematics, environmental science, African American studies.
Click here for the How To. College login required Free Access for the public to most JSTOR content here - http://about.jstor.org/individuals Academic Search Complete (EBSCOHost) all subjects
Lots of full-text scholarly articles in all subjects - great place to start your research.
Click here for the how to.
" target="_blank">Click here for the How To
College login required ProQuest Research Library all subjects
Scholarly and popular articles in all subjects. This is a great place to start your research.
Click here for the How to. College login required
In scholarly/peer reviewed articles:
Author is an expert in the subject
Content is evaluated by other experts before publication
All information sources are cited
Some databases have all scholarly material. Others have an option to search for only scholarly/peer-reviewed articles.
Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
Peer Review in 5 Minutes
Searching for English phrases in a database doesn't work. You have to boil your topic or question down into keywords that represent its basic concepts.
Entering your keywords by themselves is less effective than combining them with Boolean Operators (AND, OR, NOT, etc.) Here's how to do it.
A collection of web sites that will help you cite your sources (aka document your sources, make footnotes and bibliography.)