Skip to main content

How To Use LexisNexis Academic: For Law

LexisNexis Academic is a major database for: 1. business research (company profiles, industry info, etc.) 2. Legal research (cases, statutes, law review articles) 3. Newspapers

How To Access LexisNexis Academic

How to get to LexisNexis Academic:

  1. Go to the Online Library at http://www.esc.edu/library
  2. Click Article Databases
  3. Scroll down the alphabetical list and click LexisNexis Academic. Log in with your college login and password.

How To Find A Case In LexisNexis Academic

Searching for cases (state, federal, Supreme Court)

Once you're in LexisNexis Academic, click the little downward pointing triangle next to Look up a Legal Case (beneath the search box and Hot Topics Links box.) 


Screenshot of the LexisNexis Academic main search page. Down near the bottom is the Look Up A Legal Case button. Hit Tab 31 times to get to it.

Here's what it looks like

Screenshot of what the LexisNexis page shows once you have opened the Look Up A Legal Case menu. First Tab is for By Citation - you can enter a citation like 347 U.S. 483. Second tab is the box for the first party in a case name like Mapp versus Ohio and the third tab is for the second party in the case. Fourth tab is the box for By Topic where you can enter something like Equal Opportunity. Fifth tab is the Go button.

If you have a case citation (159 U.S. 533)

Enter the citation where it says By Citation, and click Go. 

If you have a title (Smith v. Jones)

Enter the title where it says by Parties. 

The problem with this method is that many cases are cited in other cases. So you will get search results other than the actual case you want. What you can do is look up the case at the Legal Information Institute - http://www.law.cornell.edu/search/lii - and get its full title. Or you can get its case citation (i.e., 159 U.S. 533) and look it up by that. 

If you want cases and law articles on a certain topic or area of the law

Enter your topic where it says by Topic, and click Go.

How To Find A Statute in LexisNexis Academic

New York State Consolidated Laws

Use the Search by Content Type menu (shown in the screenshot below.) 

Screenshot of the LexisNexis main search page. In tab order, search By Content Type is the fifteenth tab.

Select State Statutes and Regulations in the dialogue box that pops up (shown below.)

Screenshot of the Content Type dialogue box. You start on All News. Tab one after that is foreign language news; two is broadcast transcripts; three is federal and state cases; four is federal statutes and regulations; five is landmark cases; six is legal reference; seven is law reviews; eight is patent search; nine is state statutes and regulations (this is the one you want!); ten is shepard's citations; eleven is canadian cases; twelve is eu, commonwealth, and other nations; thirteen is canadian legislation; fourteen is dossier (company, executive and industry); fifteen is company profiles; sixteen is SEC filings; seventeen is biographical information; eighteen is country information; nineteen is consumer information; twenty is tax law; twenty-one is accounting; twenty-two is smart phone interface.

So clicking on that pops up a new search screen (shown below.)

Screenshot of LexisNexis's State Statutes and Regulations Search. Advanced Options is ten tabs in. 

Open the Advanced Options menu (shown below.) Put a check next to Statutory Code and a check on New York. Then click Apply.

Screenshot of the LexisNexis State Statutes and Regulations Advanced Options dialogue box. Tab one is the beginning date box; tab 2, the ending date box; tab three, a pull-down menu to select pre-defined date ranges; tab four, information about Segment Searches; tab five, a pull-down menu for segment searches; tab six Boolean AND; tab seven, OR; tab eight, AND NOT; tab nine, within five words; tab ten, within the same paragraphs; tab eleven, the segment search search box; tab twelve, checkbox for Statutory code; thirteen, administrative code; fourteen, constitution; fifteen, all. Tab sixteen is the checkbox for Alabama; tab seventeen is the information icon for Alabama; and tab eighteen is the link for Alabama. From there it goes through the rest of the fifty states alphabetically, followed by Guam, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands. Finally, seventy is  the Apply button and seventy-one is the Cancel button.

This takes you to a search box where you can search by keyword or citation within the NY CLS.

Alternatively, you can just click Statutory Code checkbox and click the New York link. That takes you to a browseable view where you can view individual statutes with their annotations. (Screenshot below.) 

Again, the screenshot of the LexisNexis State Statutes and Regulations Advanced Options. Instead of selecting the checkbox for the state, you click on the link for the state.

Below is the browseable directory of New York State Consolidated Laws (a.k.a. New York's statutes.) Click on any of the plus signs next to the section headings to expand that section. 

Screenshot of LexisNexis's browseable display of New York State Consolidated Laws. Tab 27 is the Quick Find Search Box. Tab 28 is the Find button, and will throw an error message if you tab to it without entering something in the Quick Search box for it to search. I don't even know. If you can get below that, there is an expandable directory of the sections of the New York statutes.

How To Find A Law Journal/Review Article In LexisNexis Academic

Searching for law review articles on a certain topic

Underneath the main search box (with the red border) on the front page, click Advanced Options

Screenshot of the LexisNexis Academic main search page. Advanced Options is located under the search box, and it is the eighteenth tab in.

Once you select Advanced options, a dialogue box pops up (shown below.) 

Once you select Advanced Options, a dialogue box pops up. From there, tab one is the box for the beginning date in a date range, and tab two is the end date in a date range. Tab three is select all available dates. Tab four is for information about Segment Searches. Tab five is a pull down menu for select a Segment. Tab six is Boolean AND button; seven is OR; eight is AND NOT, nine is within five words, and ten is within the same paragraph. Eleven is the box where you type in the keywords themselves. Tab twelve is the box for Source. Tab thirteen is the Look Up Index Terms link. Tab fourteen is the check-box for Select All Content Types. Tab fifteen is to select Newspapers; sixteen is information about newspapers. Seventeen is Law Reviews; eighteen is information about law reviews. Nineteen is State and Federal Cases; twenty is information about those. Twenty one is company profiles, and twenty two is information about those. Twenty three is the Apply button and twenty four is the Cancel button.

De-select everything (remove the checks from the boxes) for all the options except Law Reviews, and click Apply.

Enter your search, just as you would in any database. Here is some information about how to keyword search: http://subjectguides.esc.edu/researchskillstutorial/conceptchart and http://subjectguides.esc.edu/researchskillstutorial/boolean.

Your Search Results

Accessing Your Search Results

Below is a screenshot of the search results list. 

Screenshot of the LexisNexis search results list. Tabbing 78 times will get you to the checkbox to select (but not open) the first search result, and tabbing 79 times (I wish I were kidding) will get you to the clickable title of the first search result, which if selected, opens the document. 80 gets you to the checkbox for the next result, 81 to the clickable title for it, and so forth.

Below is a screenshot of a document that has been opened from the search results list.

Screenshot of a LexisNexis document opened from the search results list. Tab order is inconsistent, but USUALLY is one, terms and conditions; two, lexisnexis logo; three, find; four, browse; five, create permalink; six, help; seven, results list; eight, edit search; nine, new search; ten, home; eleven, LexisNexis main search page. Tab twelve appears to be a dud. You then have to click in the middle section of the page for the next tab order. Tab one is a pull-down menu for selecting what content you want to display and how; tab two is the box for search within results; three is the go button for search within results; four is either the back arrow to the previous result or, if you're on the first result in the list, it's the forward arrow to the next result!  After that is More Like This; then the checkbox to select this article; then the i button for information about the article; then print, then email, then save, then export bibliographic references to a citation manager, then copy document link (same as permanent link), then Send to Cloud.

In your search results list, go directly to the full-text by clicking on the link. You can print, email, save, or export to a bibliographic manager (like Refworks Flow, Mendeley, or Zotero) using the icons in the beige bar across the top of the full-text, over on the right side. There is also a little link icon that gets you the permalink.

If you want to collect a number of documents, use the checkboxes in your search results list. Once you have checked off the items that you want, use the icons at the top right to print, email, save, or export all of them to a bibliographic manager. 

Your Librarians

Sarah Morehouse's picture
Sarah Morehouse

Please note: If you need to request accommodations with content linked to on this guide, on the basis of a disability, please contact Disability Services by emailing them at Disability.Services@esc.edu.  Requests for accommodations should be submitted as early as possible to allow for sufficient planning. If you have questions, please visit the disability services website http://www.esc.edu/disabilityservices.

Contact:
(800) 847-3000 x2222

Hours of operation:
* Mon-Thu 9-9
* Fri 9-5
* Sun 1-9

Search our FAQ or email us a question