Skip to main content

How To Use Opposing Viewpoints In Context (by Gale): Home

How To Use Opposing Viewpoints In Context (by Gale)

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is a resource that brings together academic articles, audio, videos, opinion essays and primary sources about contemporary controversies and hot topics. Whether you need a balanced view or support for your position, Opposing Viewpoints is the first place to go when you're researching a controversial or contentious issue.

Before You Begin

If you are unfamiliar with accessing the college's research databases or entering your college login, review How To Access Library Databases.

Access

  1. Go to the library homepage at http://www.esc.edu/library.
  2. Click Article Databases.
  3. Look for and click "Opposing Viewpoints" from the alphabetical list.
  4. Enter your college login and password if asked to.

Browse Issues

Screenshot of Opposing Viewpoints browse issues screen

Beneath the header image, you will see a list of hot topics, organized by broad subject category. Click on a topic to be taken to a page with resources on that topic.

Basic Search

Screenshot of Opposing Viewpoints basic search

Search any word or phrase in the box at the top right of the main page. Put phrases in quotation marks. As you type, the database will suggest topics.

Search Tips:

  • Put quotation marks around a phrase so that ebrary knows to search those words as one unit rather than separately.
  • Use AND between keywords to search for books containing both terms.
  • Use OR between keywords to search for books containing either term.
  • For more information, see Using AND, OR & NOT to Combine Keywords.

Advanced Search

Screenshot of Opposing Viewpoints advanced search screen

Below the search box is a link to Advanced Search, which lets you control and narrow your search. For example, you can specify exactly what types of information sources you are seeking.

Enter your keywords in the search boxes. 

  • Put quotation marks around a phrase so that ebrary knows to search those words as one unit rather than separately.
  • Use AND between keywords to search for books containing both terms.
  • Use OR between keywords to search for books containing either term.
  • For more information, see Using AND, OR & NOT to Combine Keywords

Here are some Advanced Search features:

  1. Boolean-savvy users: Each search box is treated like a giant set of parentheses and you can use the pull-down menu to the left to join the contents of the search boxes with AND, OR or NOT. The default is AND.
  2. The pull-down menu to the right of each search box tells the database where it should look for those keywords:
    • Keyword (everywhere in the document).
    • Document title (article or image title).
    • Publication title (journal title).
  3. Checkboxes allow you to restrict your search to just documents that are available in full-text in this database, or just documents that are peer reviewed journal articles.
  4. Publication date lets you limit your search to documents that were published within a certain timeframe.
  5. Document type lets you limit your search to only articles, images, statistics, etc.
  6. Content type is a simpler way to ensure that you get just search results from academic journals, primary sources, or whatever.
  7. Content level is a way to tell the database what level of difficulty or sophistication you want your search results to have. 

Results List

Screenshot of Opposing Viewpoints browse results page

Your search or browse results will be organized by document type. 

  • Academic journal articles
  • Magazine articles
  • Statistical resources
  • Viewpoint essays
  • Primary sources
  • News articles and videos
  • Images

To access any resource, click the title, which is also a link.

View Article

Screenshot of Opposing Viewpoints document view

Once you open a document, you will its contents on the main part of the page.

To the right of the contents is a Tools menu:

  1. Bookmark gives you a permalink to the document, which is what you need to use if you want to come back to this document or share it with someone else.
  2. Citation tools gives you the properly formatted citation for the document in APA or MLA Style.
    • You also click Citation Tools to export this document to Refworks. (For more information, see How To Use RefWorks.)
  3. Download, Email, Print and Save are all options for keeping a copy of the document or sharing it. 

Your Librarians

Sarah Morehouse's picture
Sarah Morehouse

Please note: If you need to request accommodations with content linked to on this guide, on the basis of a disability, please contact Disability Services by emailing them at Disability.Services@esc.edu.  Requests for accommodations should be submitted as early as possible to allow for sufficient planning. If you have questions, please visit the disability services website http://www.esc.edu/disabilityservices.

Contact:
(800) 847-3000 x2222

Hours of operation:
* Mon-Thu 9-9
* Fri 9-5
* Sun 1-9

Search our FAQ or email us a question