Skip to main content

How To Create A Permalink To An Article In A Database: Home

How To Create A Permalink In Each Database

Normally when you link to a web page, you just copy the URL from the address bar of your browser. But when you want to link to an article in a library database, you often need to get the link from another part of the page.

Many databases generate a URL dynamically from your search, and that URL only works for the duration of your login session with that database. It won't work for anyone else, and it won't work for you if you log out and log back in. 

What you need is the permalink, sometimes called the persistent URL or PURL. Here's how to get the permalink for all of the library databases.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Academic OneFile

  1. Click the title of the article to view article information
  2. Click the Bookmark this Document link in the box on the right side of the page
  3. Copy the Bookmark URL

Academic Video Online

  1. Sign into your Academic Video Online account
  2. Open the video or video segment
  3. Scroll down the page and click the Embed/link button under where the video plays
  4. Copy the URL given

ACM Digital Library Portal

  1. Click the title of the article to view article information
  2. Copy the URL from the browser address bar

Alexander Street Press

(including Women and Social Movements, Black Thought and Culture, In The First Person, North American Women's Letters and Diaries)

  1. Open the full-text article
  2. Copy the URL from the browser's address bar

Annual Reviews

  1. View article information. 
  2. Copy the URL from the browser address bar.

AnthroSource

  1. Open the full-text article
  2. In the upper right corner of the page, click the icon that looks like a globe with a chainlink
  3. Copy the link given
  4. Add the library prefix to the beginning of it: http://library.esc.edu/login?url=

ARTSTOR

  1. Register for your own ARTstor account, following the instructions in ARTstor's Help documentation
  2. In the search results page, right-click the image that you want
  3. Select Display image URL and copy the URL (including the http:// part)
  4. Add the library prefix to the beginning of it: http://library.esc.edu/login?url=

CollegeSource Online

  1. Open the full-text article
  2. Copy the URL from the browser address bar

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)

  1. View the article.
  2. Copy the URL from your browser address bar.

Conference Board Business Knowledge Research

  1. Open the full-text article
  2. Click Cite Now
  3. Copy the URL displayed in the small window (including the http:// part)
  4. Add the library prefix to the beginning of it: http://library.esc.edu/login?url=

Credo

  1. Open the full-text article
  2. Copy the URL from the browser address bar

Ebook Central (formerly known as ebrary)

  1. Use the Ebook Catalog to locate the ebook
  2. In the search results list, click the title of the ebook
  3. At the top of the page, click MARC tags
  4. Scroll down to the row labeled 85640
  5. Copy the URL (only the part between |u and |z)

EBSCOhost

(including Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, PsycArticles, PsycInfo, SocIndex, ERIC, Education Source Complete, Education Full-text, America History and Life, Historical Abstracts, Environment Complete, Communications & Mass Media Complete, netlibrary etc.)

  1. In the search results list, click the title of the article
  2. To the right of the record, click Permalink
  3. Copy the URL that appears in the box labeled Permalink

Education and Information Technology Library (Ed&ITLib)

  1. Open the full-text article
  2. Copy the URL from the browser address bar (including the http:// part)
  3. Add the library prefix to the beginning of it: http://library.esc.edu/login?url=

Faulkner Advisory for IT Studies

  1. In the search results list, right-click the title of the article
  2. In the drop-down menu, select Copy Shortcut

Films On Demand

  1. Open the video or video segment
  2. Scroll down the page to locate the title or segment URL
  3. Copy the URL provided

Gale

(including ASAP, Business Insights, Academic OneFile, Gale Virtual Reference Library, etc.)

  1. Open the full-text article
  2. Click Bookmark this Document
  3. Copy the URL provided

JSTOR

  1. Click on the article's title to view the item information page
  2. Copy the URL marked stable URL
  3. Rewrite the stable URL by adding .library.esc.edu after the ".org"
    • Before: http://www.jstor.org/stable/12345678
    • After:   http://www.jstor.org.library.esc.edu/stable/12345678

LexisNexis Academic

  1. Open the full-text document
  2. You will see the Icon bar at the top right corner of your document 
  3. Click the Permalink Icon all the way to the right, which looks like a clipboard with a chainlink

Oxford Reference Online

  1. Open the full-text article
  2. Copy the URL from the browser's address bar

ProQuest

(including ProQuest Research Library, ABI/Inform, etc.)

  1. Open the full-text article
  2. Copy the URL from the Document URL space

Sage Journals

  1. Open the full-text article
  2. Copy the URL from the browser's address bar

ScienceDirect

  1. Open the full-text article
  2. Click Export Citation
  3. Click Export
  4. Copy the URL from the citation (including the http:// part)
  5. Add the library prefix to the beginning of it: http://library.esc.edu/login?url=

Women and Social Movements

  1. View the article.
  2. Copy the URL from your browser address bar. 

Your Librarians

Sarah Morehouse's picture
Sarah Morehouse

Please note: If you need to request accommodations with content linked to on this guide, on the basis of a disability, please contact Disability Services by emailing them at Disability.Services@esc.edu.  Requests for accommodations should be submitted as early as possible to allow for sufficient planning. If you have questions, please visit the disability services website http://www.esc.edu/disabilityservices.

Contact:
(800) 847-3000 x2222

Hours of operation:
* Mon-Thu 9-9
* Fri 9-5
* Sun 1-9

Search our FAQ or email us a question