This is the "Journal Articles" page of the "Psychology & Sociology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Empire State College: State University of New York Skip navigation Home | Prospective Students | MyESC | Search Tools | Request Info

Psychology & Sociology  

Resources for psychology, sociology, family studies and human development.
Last Updated: Feb 4, 2015 URL: http://subjectguides.esc.edu/psychologyandsociology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Journal Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Searching for your topic? Use databases.

  • PsycARTICLES  Icon
    Full-text, scholarly articles in all aspects of psychology. You can narrow your search down by species, age group, gender, research methodology, etc. Click here for help using this database.
  • JSTOR  Icon
    Unlike most databases, JSTOR has plenty of content published before the 1990s, but it does not have full-text for the most recent 2-3 years. Articles in all subjects, but especially good for history, area studies, the arts and humanities, mathematics, environmental science, and. Click here for help using this database.
  • PsycINFO  Icon
    Full-text, scholarly articles and other kinds of resources in all aspects of psychology. You can narrow your search down by species, age group, gender, research methodology, etc. Click here for help using this database.
  • Social Sciences with Full Text  Icon
    Full-text scholarly articles about social science concepts and methods. Click here for help using this database.
  • SocINDEX with Full Text  Icon
    Scholarly, full-text articles in sociology, social work, and social psychology. Start here for research about the family, the community, or the workplace. Click here for help using this database.
  • Sage Journals  Icon
    Scholarly articles in all subjects. Particularly good in business, biology/medicine, engineering, and the social sciences. We do not have access to full-text for all Sage journals. Limit your search to "SAGE Journals Available To Me." Even then, you will only be able to access articles published 1996 or later. Click here for help using this database.
  • ScienceDirect  Icon
    Full-text, scholarly articles in the sciences and business. Narrow your topic by selecting Psychology or Sociology from the subject list.
  • ProQuest Research Library  Icon
    Scroll down in the list of databases to narrow your search to Psychology or Sociology. You can search related journal, magazine and newspaper articles there.
  • Annual Reviews - Social Sciences  Icon  Icon
    Scholarly reports on important issues and topics in the social sciences. Be aware that your search results will contain content that we don't have access to.

Know what article or journal you're looking for?

Need help with searching?

  • Citing Your Sources
    A collection of web sites that will help you cite your sources (aka document your sources, make footnotes and bibliography.)
  • Combine keywords
    Entering your keywords by themselves is less effective than combining them with Boolean Operators (AND, OR, NOT, etc.) Here's how to do it.
  • Identify Keywords
    Shows you how to come up with keywords to search in library databases, the e-book catalog, even Google.
 

Using the Library with Mobile Devices

Is the Online Library compatible with my iPad? Kindle? Droid Phone? Blackberry? Other mobile device?  

The answer is, it depends on your device and the library resource.  

For information about each library database and e-book collection and how they work with mobile devices as well as information on available apps and how to read articles or e-books on your device, please visit http://www.esc.edu/library-mobile

 

What are scholarly/peer reviewed articles?

In scholarly/peer reviewed articles:

  • Author is an expert in the subject
  • Content is evaluated by other experts before publication
  • All information sources are cited

Some databases have all scholarly material. Others have an option to search for only scholarly/peer-reviewed articles.

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
Peer Review in 5 Minutes

 

Search for Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles in EBSCOHost

Searches: PsycARTICLES, PsycINFO, and SocINDEX and limits results to "scholarly" articles only

Your Librarians

Profile Image
Your Librarians
Contact Info
800-847-3000, ext. 2222

Normal Hours
-Sun: 1 p.m.-9 p.m.
-Mon-Thu: 9 a.m.-9 p.m.
-Fri: 9 a.m.-5 p.m.

Summer Hours
-Sun: 1 p.m.-7 p.m.
-Mon-Thu: 9 a.m.-7 p.m.
-Fri: 9 a.m.-5 p.m.
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip