Why take a library workshop?
|
|
Upcoming Dates & Registration
How to register: click on the "Register here" link next to the date you want, then click on the "Register" button on the registration page and enter your name and email.
Winter-Spring 2012 workshop dates (all workshops 6:30 - 8 PM EST):
- Tue 1/24 Introduction to Searching [instructor: Dana Longley]
- Wed 1/25 Introduction to Searching [instructor: Dana Longley]
- Tue 1/31 Working with Books & E-Books [instructor: Dana Longley]
- Mon 2/6 Citing Your Sources [instructor: Sara Hull]
- Thu 2/9 Better Sources, Better Papers [instructor: Sarah Morehouse]
- Wed 2/15 Advanced Research Tips & Tricks [instructor: Dana Longley]
- Mon 2/27 Citing Your Sources [instructor: Sara Hull]
- Tue 2/28 Working with Books, E-Books & Multimedia [instructor: Dana Longley]
- Wed 3/7 Introduction to Searching [instructor: Dana Longley]
- Mon 3/12 Citing Your Sources [instructor: Sara Hull]
- Tue 3/13 Using Refworks [instructor: Heather Shalhoub]
- Mon 3/19 Better Sources, Better Papers [instructor: Sarah Morehouse]
- Mon, 3/26 Citing Your Sources [instructor: Sara Hull]
- Tue 3/27 Using Refworks [instructor: Heather Shalhoub]
- Wed 3/28 Advanced Research Tips & Tricks [instructor: Dana Longley]
- Thu 3/29 Better Sources, Better Papers [instructor: Sarah Morehouse]
- Mon 4/2 Better Sources, Better Papers [instructor: Sarah Morehouse]
- Tue 4/3 Introduction to Searching [instructor: Dana Longley]
- Wed 4/4 Introduction to Searching [instructor: Dana Longley]
- Thu 4/5 Better Sources, Better Papers [instructor: Sarah Morehouse]
- Mon, 4/9 Citing Your Sources [instructor: Sara Hull]
- Tue 4/10 Using Refworks [instructor: Heather Shalhoub]
- Mon 5/21 Better Sources, Better Papers [instructor: Sarah Morehouse] Register here
**If a workshop is not available when you want help, you can call or use our live chat services to speak one-on-one with a librarian to address any questions you have.**
Participation Requirements
IMPORTANT: you must successfully complete all technical and set-up requirements below before registering
Minimum Technical Requirements:
- Check Computer Requirements (note: microphone or headset NOT required)
- Internet connection speed: broadband recommended
- Listening options:
- computer speakers
- or headphones (microphone optional) or headset
- or telephone (calling charges from your carrier may apply)
- Talking options:
- computer microphone or headset
- or no talking (text-chat only): if you do not have a microphone or headset to speak into, you can communicate using text chat only
- or telephone (calling charges from your carrier may apply)
Set-Up Requirements:
- PRIOR to registering make sure your computer works properly with Elluminate. Go to the Elluminate Support site (you can do this anytime prior to registering)
- Step 1: Java Software: automatically tells you if you have the correct version
- Step 2: Complete your setup: click on the "configuration room" link to check your audio
- Step 3 (optional, but recommended): take the 5-minute, online orientation or view the quick reference guide
Registration & Participation Steps (requirements above must be met to register):
- Register for a workshop date. Type your name and email in the form. Registration closes one hour prior to start time.
- You will get an email before & after the session containing reminders, handouts and feedback forms.
- Go to the virtual classroom web address (you will receive the address when you register) at least 5 minutes before start time.
- Type your name into the text box provided, click the "login" button
- You may be asked to download a small file onto your computer (meeting.jnlp). If so, click "ok."
- Once the Elluminate classroom opens on your screen:
- If using a computer talk option (microphone or headset): click on the Tools menu at top > Audio > Audio Set-up Wizard
- If using the Phone: click on the small blue "telephone" icon near the bottom of the screen to get the phone conference number and PIN (note: your phone service may charge you regular calling rates)
- Type your name into the text box provided, click the "login" button
-
NOTE: technical support for Elluminate is NOT provided by the College.
If you encounter a technical problem, go to:
If you need to request accommodations on the basis of a disability, please contact Disability Services @ x2201 or Disability.Services@esc.edu) when you register. The library workshops use a combination of visual and audio media that may necessitate the use of accommodations. Requests for accommodations should be submitted as early as possible to allow for sufficient planning. If you have questions, please visit the disability services website (http://www.esc.edu/disabilityservices) or contact the office at x2201 or disability.services@esc.edu.
Workshop Descriptions
a. Introduction to Searching:
You will learn how to:
- Create a search strategy from a research topic
- Use the Resources by Subject guides
- Search Journal & Newspaper Articles
- Use powerful search results page options
How to effectively and efficiently do research and navigate the college's online library, which includes searchable access to millions of full-text journal & newspaper articles and other resources. Ideal for those new to the college, new to using the online library or doing college-level research. Optional: bring your own research topic to work on.
b. Citing Your Sources:
TOPICS COVERED:
- Why cite?
- What is a citation?
- Parts of a citation
- MLA vs APA style
- Knowing your source
- Documentation tips
Learn why citing your sources is so important and where to get citation formatting information for styles such as APA, MLA, etc. Ideal for anyone interested in learning how to avoid accidental plagiarism.
c. Working with Books, E-Books & Multimedia:
You will learn how to:
- Use the library e-book catalog
- Search the full-text of specific e-book collections
- Use annotation, save and print options for e-books
- Locate print books (and journals) at nearby libraries using WorldCat
- Search our streaming video and image collections
How to effectively navigate, search and use the college's e-book and multimedia collections and how to locate print books in nearby libraries. Ideal for those new to the college, new to using the online library or doing college-level research.
d. Better Sources, Better Papers:
What is the difference between scholarly and popular articles? What are some tell-tale signs that the information source you want to use isn't reliable? How can you tell the difference between fact and somebody's opinion disguised as fact? Your instructor may say "Use only reliable, academic resources!" or "Don't cite Wikipedia!" - this webinar will show you how to use your own judgment and critical thinking skills to evaluate information sources and the information in them for yourself. Ideal for anyone doing college-level research, reading the newspaper, watching a health report, etc.!
e. Using RefWorks:
Learn how to access and use the online (and free to all current Empire State College students) bibliographic management tool. Use it to organize your research resources and buiuld and format your bibliographies.
f. Advanced Research Tips and Tricks
This hands-on workshop will tackle advanced search strategies and introduce tools and techniques to make gathering the most relevant information on your topic more efficient and effective.
Ideal for upper level undergrads who have experience using the online library and doing basic research (it is strongly recommended that you take the Introduction to Searching workshop first), as well as for graduate students looking to take their research skills to the next level.
You will learn how to:
- Use and combine advanced search operators and modifiers to make the most of keyword searches.
- Use powerful controlled vocabularies to get the most accurate database search results.
- Mine the work of important researchers to find the most relevant key terms and literature on a topic.
Have a suggestion for a workshop topic? Email us your suggestions.
Ask Your Librarians |
JavaScript disabled - please enable to use chat feature. Note: if you leave this page, you'll lose current chatContact Info Submit Question Online Phone: 1-800-847-3000 ext. 2222 Reference hours: -Su: 1pm-9pm -M-Th: 9am-9pm -Fr: 9am-5pm Send Email |


Loading...
