It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Construction Management: Design Websites
This guide will provide you with information on locating construction management resources on the internet.
The National Labor College developed this guide.
Subscribers can access ACI Manual of Concrete Practice online. Visitors can make technical inquiries online. Library has searchable database of research report abstracts that can be accessed by members. Researchers can post reports. Technical reports can be purchased online. Offers seminars on building codes and building code changes.
Steel Solutions Center provides technical answers about steel design, materials, construction and research; lists innovative design ideas by type of structure/ construction; hosts online chat room to discuss technical issues with industry experts in regularly scheduled topical chats. Resources provides AISC case studies; articles; engineering FAQs; monthly steel quiz; archive of Steel Tips periodical; articles from Modern Steel Construction; and recent abstracts and selected articles.
Provides design, building code and fire code information; span tables and calculators; software; design manual updates; technical FAQs; online continuing and professional education program; publications for sale and for free download, including articles and technical reports. Offers free online courses on Designing with National Design Specification for Wood Construction; LRFD Manual for Engineered Wood Construction; Wood Frame Construction Manual; building code, wood design courses and seminars
Contains database of research project fact sheets and listing of full-text technical reports. Research Themes provides information about research units, including areas of expertise, publications and projects.
Contains extensive list of downloadable engineering manuals, including Concrete, Construction Quality Assurance, Coastal Engineering Manual, Civil Works Construction Cost Index System, Hydraulic Design and others.
Provides links to research centers and laboratories, including Construction Engineering Research, Geotechnical and Structures, Cold Regions Research and Engineering, and Environmental. Installations provides information about research projects and centers on Building Information Modeling, Building Loads Analysis, cold weather engineering, design review and checking, seismic design, shock testing, structural building models.
Formerly APTLY -- Alliance of Deep Foundation Testing Professionals. Performs research, testing and analysis of deep foundations. Provides information on meetings, conferences and short courses about foundation engineering; list of publications related to geotechnical engineering and piling specifications; member directory.
Provides links to federal and state government agencies, university research centers and other research institutions, associations, consulting companies, publications, software and other resources concerning bridges. Contains links to sites for non-commercial and commercial software for bridge design and analysis and construction design and analysis.
Bridge engineering resource site. Includes links to bridge engineering associations, product manufacturers, bridge consultants, government agencies, events and conferences, and other bridge-related Web resources. Provides learning resources, bridge design examples and design aids to assist practicing bridge engineers and engineering students in learning and implementing the AASHTO LRFD Bridge Design Specification. Offers monthly newsletter; books on bridge engineering for sale.
Design includes design drawings and considerations; online calculators; Applications includes downloadable guides for light framing, post and beam, foundations, landscaping. Publications lists engineering publications for sale and case studies, technical bulletins, and fact sheets; Products provides technical information, grades, sizes and design values for wood products; Environment contains green building publications; and Education offers online seminars.
Independent research organization established by the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE). Collaborative Programs lists past and current research projects under categories "Benchmarking and Visioning," "Advanced Materials" (ConMat), "Technical Support" and "Technology Transfer." Lists detailed summaries of projects and contact information for each project. Project Summaries lists projects in all categories.
Problem Clinic contains large database of "question-and-answer" items on producing, designing and building with concrete and masonry. Can search database by keyword, topic category, magazine and original publication date or can browse a list of items published on each topic in the last five years.
Engineering Web portal contains links and annotations to hundreds of civil, environmental, design, occupational safety and health, and other engineering Web sites. Civil Engineering contains information on construction and building engineering (including components, products, equipment, management, methods, surveying and facilities/services); engineering geology; hydraulic and waterworks engineering.
Online information retrieval service that combines several databases, search tools and content services for engineers, engineering students, researchers and information professionals. Accessible databases include Compendex, Inspec, NTIS, Referex Engineering, ENGnetBASE, USPTO, GlobalSpec, Scirus, EEVL and LexisNexis News.
Online engineering information portal. Engineering and Design Data includes design guidelines and links; design and technical tips; charts, data, specifications; engineering, math, scientific, material calculators and converters; aluminum and steel structural shape charts; electrical equations; material and standard hardware data; military and aerospace hardware selection guide. Contains product and services guide; articles; discussion forum; resume and job database; industry news.
Contains information on membership, meetings and conferences; publications, including technical reports on structural concepts, design guidance and construction management; links to sites related to structural engineering.
Materials information database with data on thousands of materials including metals, plastics, ceramics, and composites. Visitors can search database by material type, trade name, manufacturer, property or material composition to retrieve material properties, values and other technical information.
Gives information about research activities of NIST measurement and standards laboratories. Allows access to online databases; lists available standards and technical publications; lists international metrology labs and standards bodies; links to other government agencies and standards-developing organizations; and provides full text of NIST Journal of Research from 1995.
Contains downloadable "NISD Guidelines for Successful Presentation of Steel Design Documents" intended to support the "AISC Code of Standard Practice for Steel Buildings and Bridges." Other guides are offered for sale.
Performs research to develop specifications and design recommendations for post-tensioned construction. Can buy publications, technical notes, design manuals and specifications online; provides technical updates and errata sheets
Contains technical information on lumber products, including headers and beams; design values; joist and rafter span tables; specification assistance, including lists of standard lumber sizes; American Softwood Lumber Standard; specification guidelines; grade marks; and species comparisons
Provides information about structural analysis, bridges, building engineering, civil engineering, data exchange, hazards engineering, offshore engineering, specialty steels, standards and sustainable construction. Offers publications and courses on bridges, codes, design, fire, general steel construction and pilings.
Information source for architects, engineers and contractors about cold-formed steel and the light steel industry. Provides product specifications for light steel products such as vertical deflection clips and cold-formed framing; product directory; details and specifications for cold-formed metal framing.
Contains database of built structures and large construction projects searchable by name, designer, construction firm or location that provides historical and technical information, images and links; directory of designers; database of journals of architecture and structural engineering searchable by name or country of publication.
Contains information for structural engineers; member directory; products and services directory; online order form for structural engineering publications; downloadable research papers; worldwide earthquake data; and links to structural engineering resources, including software, agencies and organizations.
The council promotes safe design and structural stability by offering guidance to specification writers and practicing engineers. Contains information on the council's annual Technical Session and the AISC-North American Steel Construction Conference.
Contains more than 1,000 links of interest to civil engineers and others in the construction community. Includes links to civil engineering and construction programs at schools and universities worldwide; resources based on subject, including bridges, buildings, materials and construction.
Please note: If you need to request accommodations with content linked to on this guide, on the basis of a disability, please contact Accessibility Resources and Services by emailing them at Disability.Services@esc.edu. Requests for accommodations should be submitted as early as possible to allow for sufficient planning. If you have questions, please visit the Accessibility Resources and Services website https://www.esc.edu/accessibility.