It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Construction Management: Journals
This guide will provide you with information on locating construction management resources on the internet.
The National Labor College developed this guide.
You do not need a barcode number to log into these online journals. Instead, log in with your Empire State College login and password. If you don't have yours yet, contact TechInfo at http://www.esc.edu/techinfo or call 800-847-3000 ext. 2420.
Full-text is available from 1997 to present with a 1 year delay. Is a leading international refereed journal focused on buildings and their supporting systems. Unique to BRI is a focus on a holistic, transdisciplinary approach to buildings and the complexity of issues involving the built environment with other systems over the course of their life: planning, briefing, design, construction, occupation and use, property exchange and evaluation, maintenance, alteration and end of life. Published articles provide conceptual and evidence-based approaches which reflect the complexity and linkages between cultural, environmental, economic, social, organisational, quality of life, health, well-being, design and engineering of the built environment.
Is not available in full-text. Is CMAA's official publication. It is published bi-monthly and reports on the Construction Management industry as a service to all CMAA members.
Is not available in full-text. is an executive summary of noteworthy articles pertaining to the professional construction management services industry and is electronically distributed every other month to CMAA members as an exclusive membership benefit. CMAA’s editorial staff monitors newspapers, business publications, websites, national and international wire services, and other periodicals and summarizes significant articles into an easy-to-read summary.
Full-text is available from 1983 to present with an 18 month delay. Is the leading international refereed journal that publishes original research concerning the management and economics of building and civil engineering, while also including the management of built facilities.
Full-text is available from 2003 to present with a 1 year delay. Issues going back to 1998 are available here. Publishes papers on innovative developments in the management and practice of construction, and original research work in all aspects of construction management. The journal is international and publishes papers from North and South America, Europe, Asia, Australasia, Africa and the Middle East, reflecting the global nature of the construction industry and the research that supports it.
Full-text is available from 1995 to present. Has comprehensive coverage of all facets of project management. It provides a focus for worldwide expertise in the required techniques, practices and areas of research; presents a forum for its readers to share common experiences across the full range of industries and technologies in which project management is used; covers all areas of project management from systems to human aspects; links theory with practice by publishing case studies and covering the latest important issues. Application areas include: information systems, strategic planning, research and development, system design and implementation, engineering and construction projects, finance, leisure projects, communications, defence, agricultural projects, major re-structuring and new product development.
Full-text is available from 1995 to present with a 1 year delay. Publishes quality papers that aim to advance the science of construction engineering, harmonize construction practices with design theories, and further education and research in construction engineering and management. Topics include, but are not limited to, the following: construction material handling, equipment, production planning, specifications, scheduling, estimating, cost control, quality control, labor productivity, inspection, contract administration, construction management, computer applications, and environmental concerns.
Full-text is available from 2002 to 2006. Investigates and expands the frontiers of knowledge that cover business decision making applications of scholarly construction research. Construction research consists of construction operations, management, economics and engineering services. The JCR aims to provide an international forum for the interchange of information and ideas relating to operations management and production management in the construction industry.
Full-text is available from 1995 to present with a 1 year delay. Covers topics that include project management; department, branch and office management; financial management; marketing; computer systems management; productivity management; budgeting; and management development.
Please note: If you need to request accommodations with content linked to on this guide, on the basis of a disability, please contact Accessibility Resources and Services by emailing them at Disability.Services@esc.edu. Requests for accommodations should be submitted as early as possible to allow for sufficient planning. If you have questions, please visit the Accessibility Resources and Services website https://www.esc.edu/accessibility.