Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Construction Management: Statistics

This guide will provide you with information on locating construction management resources on the internet. The National Labor College developed this guide.

Construction Statistics

 Building Permits

Building permit statistics are available at this site from Census data.  It includes data from 1996-2010 on new residential and nonresidential construction for individual municipalities for both cities and counties. Updated monthly.

Census Bureau - Manufacturing, Mining, and Construction Statistics

Contains a number of statistical resources pertaining to construction such as construction research reports, construction price indexes, construction spending and new residential construction.

Construction Guide to Data Sources from the U.S. Census Bureau

Statistics on construction spending, constuction price, new residential construction, manufactured housing and more.

Construction Industry at a Glance

Bureau of Labor Statistics site containing various statistical data related to the construction industry such as workforce statistics; earnings and hours; fatalities, injuries, and illnesses; and workplace trends.

National Association of Home Builders - Construction Statistics

The site includes information on housing starts and completions, employment and permit data, as well homeownership rates. To learn more about the characteristics of new homes, multifamily buildings, and the price by location of a square foot of floor area, search the resources compiled below by title, detail, or date.

Statistical Abstract of the United States 

This resource has a section on construction & housing with statistics covering: construction indices and value, construction industry, housing units and characteristics, housing sales, authorizations, and starts and completes.

U.S. Housing Market Statistics

 Availabe online, this is a compilation of statistical data and written reports. Overviews of economic and housing market trends are presented for 10 geographical regions, the report for each of which includes a profile on a selected housing market. Each issue includes a summary of the overall trends in national housing and a topical piece that describes a particular, noteworthy aspect of housing activity.
 

Your Librarians

Sarah Morehouse's picture
Sarah Morehouse

Please note: If you need to request accommodations with content linked to on this guide, on the basis of a disability, please contact Accessibility Resources and Services by emailing them at Disability.Services@esc.edu.  Requests for accommodations should be submitted as early as possible to allow for sufficient planning. If you have questions, please visit the Accessibility Resources and Services website https://www.esc.edu/accessibility.

Contact:
(800) 847-3000 x2222

Normal Hours
- Sun: 1 p.m. - 9 p.m.
- Mon-Thu: 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
- Fri: 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Summer Hours
(Memorial Day - Labor Day)
- Sun: 1 p.m. - 5 p.m.
- Mon-Thu: 9 a.m. - 7 p.m.
- Fri: 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Winter Break Hours
(End of Fall 1 - beginning of Spring 1)
- Sun: Closed
- Mon-Thu: 9 a.m.-7 p.m.
- Fri: 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.

(Christmas week 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.)

Search our FAQ or email us a question

George Meany Memorial Archives Library

Access to resources in the George Meany Memorial Archives Library has unfortunately been suspended. However, you can still access the George Meany Memorial Archives. 

Contact the George Meany Memorial Archives Librarian, Jannie R. Cobb:

jcobb@nlc.edu 
301-431-5447