How to use this guide
- Looking for a journal article? Scroll to the box below to search for your topic in our databases.
- Looking for web resources? Scroll down further to view selected online resources and professional organization links.
Article databases
- Environment CompleteArticles on agriculture, energy, marine sciences, geography, urban planning & environmental science. Help using Environment Complete.Help getting a permalink in Environment Complete.Accessibility help
- GreenFileArticles in environmental studies. Help with GreenFile. Help getting a permalink in GreenFile.Accessibility help
- ScienceDirectFull-text access to 248 journals. Please also check Google Scholar if you cannot find full-text in ScienceDirect. Help using ScienceDirect.Help getting a permalink in ScienceDirect.ScienceDirect Accessibility Help
- JSTORUnlike most databases, JSTOR has plenty of content published before the 1990s, but it does not have full-text for the most recent 2-3 years. Articles in all subjects, but especially good for history, area studies, the arts and humanities, mathematics, environmental science, etc. Help using JSTOR. Help creating a permalink in JSTOR.
- Sage JournalsScholarly articles in all subjects. Particularly good in business, biology/medicine, engineering, and the social sciences. We do not have access to full-text for all Sage journals. Limit your search to "SAGE Journals Available To Me." Help using Sage Journals.Help getting a permalink in Sage Journals.
- Bioline InternationalOpen Access scholarly articles from journals published in developing countries, having to do with biology and medicine. From the Reference Center on Environmental Information, Brazil.
- BioText Search EngineSearch 300+ Open Access Journals in the biosciences.
- ECOLEXinformation on environmental law: treaties, legislation, court decisions, literature
- Environment & Resources Annual Reviews2007-2011 full-text access to this key scholarly publication.
- EPA Science InventorySearchable database of EPA science activities and scientific and technical products
- Forest Service Information DatabaseForest inventory and Analysis Program. Various USDA forestry reports and data analysis tools.
- NAL Catalog (aka AGRICOLA)Agriculture journal articles - no full-text in the database (but you can get the full-text elsewhere.) From the U.S. Department of Agriculture.
- SciTech ConnectReports on energy. From the U.S. Department of Energy.
- Southern Research Station Publication DatabaseResearch publications in forestry and forest science, including much full-text.
Selected Earth and Environmental Science Organizations on the Web
Selected Earth and Environmental Science Web Sites
- The Carbon Cyclefrom NASA Earth Observatory
- Environmental Justice FoundationThe human rights implications of environmental issues.
- Global Change Master DirectoryNASA directory of earth science data sets
- Climate BasicsFrom the Center for Climate and Energy Solutions.
- Google EarthDownload this tool to look at satellite photographs of the Earth's many different topographies and landforms. You can also explore the ocean, the surface of the Moon and Mars, and the stars. There are also climate plug-ins.
- How to Look at a RockGreat introduction to identifying rock specimens that you find.
- Intergovernmental Panel on Climate ChangeFrom the World Meteorological Organization and the United Nations Environment Programme.
- Invasive.OrgCenter for Invasive Species & Ecosystem Health, featuring images, articles, maps and videos.
- NASA Software CatalogThe NASA Software Catalog offers an extensive portfolio of software products for a wide variety of technical applications.
- National Climatic Data CenterFrom the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA.)
- National Geophysical Data CenterFrom the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA.)
- National Oceanographic Data CenterFrom the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Association (NOAA.)
- PLANTS databaseFrom the USDA National Agricultural Library. Identify plants, lichens and mosses from the United States and its territories.
- Skeptical Science: Getting Skeptical about Global Warming SkepticismAn independent web site that attempts to debunk climate skepticism by referring to peer reviewed scientific sources.
- Space and Earth NewsIncludes Earth Science, Environmental Science and Astronomy. From PhysOrg.org, a web-based science news aggregator.
- United States Geological Surveyfrom their About section: the USGS "collects, monitors, analyzes, and provides scientific understanding about natural resource conditions, issues, and problems. The diversity of our scientific expertise enables us to carry out large-scale, multi-disciplinary investigations and provide impartial scientific information to resource managers, planners, and other customers."
- United States Global Change Research ProgramLaunched in 1990, they produce annual reports to the President and Congress as well as other publications on climate change.
- The Water Cyclefrom NASA Earth Observatory
- World Weather Information Servicefrom the World Meteorological Organization
Research Methods
- Social Research MethodsResources and links for applied social research and evaluation.
Library News & Alerts
Librarian
Heather Shalhoub
She/Her
Contact:
(800) 847-3000 x2222
https://www.esc.edu/askalibrarian
Normal Hours
Sun-Thu: 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
Summer Hours
July - August:
Mon-Thu: 12 p.m. - 5 p.m.
Ask a Librarian is closed during the Spring, Summer and Winter breaks. Academic librarians from the Ask Us 24/7 consortium are available to help any time via chat when Ask a Librarian is closed.
https://www.esc.edu/askalibrarian
Normal Hours
Sun-Thu: 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
Summer Hours
July - August:
Mon-Thu: 12 p.m. - 5 p.m.
Ask a Librarian is closed during the Spring, Summer and Winter breaks. Academic librarians from the Ask Us 24/7 consortium are available to help any time via chat when Ask a Librarian is closed.
Please note:
If you need to request accommodations on the basis of a disability for library content needed for your coursework, please visit the Accessibility Resources and Services website.
Subjects: Science, Mathematics & Technology
