Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Quick Fixes for your Course: Direct Links to Resources

Are your students running aground on library assignments and library-related skills? You don't have to wait til the next revision cycle to make some improvements. The library can help with simple improvements that you can make before the module is done!

Librarians don't have the access to edit your Moodle course for you. 

Also, please contact the course owner to have changes made to the course master so that it propagates to all the sections next term. 

Why a direct link to a library or web resource?

If the learning objectives of your course include something like "Students will be able to locate library databases," or "Students will be able to use library databases to locate the full-text of a named article," then it makes sense to just give them the title. (Please give them the authors' names, and the publication year as well, and please please please be sure that the title is correct.)

Otherwise, it doesn't really make sense to create additional, extraneous cognitive load by having students hunt for a particular resource. Instead, wherever possible, link directly to it!

(The one time when it is not possible is when it's an article in Harvard Business Review. That publication prevents direct linking.) 

Link to it:

  • In the syllabus
  • In the module
  • In the course guide, if you have one

How to direct link to a library resource

First, find the resource. The easiest way to do this is using OneSearch (the search box on the library web site.)

  • Enter the full, correct title of the work in quotation marks
    "Methontology: from ontological art towards ontological engineering"
  • If that doesn't work, try the title and the authors
    "Methontology: from ontological art towards ontological engineering" AND "fernandez-lopez" AND "gomez-perez" AND juristo
  • At the search results list, look for your item. Verify that it says either PDF Full-text or HTML Full-text underneath.
    If it does not, and says Find Full-text, click that. If that does not lead to full-text, that means we don't actually have the item. 
  • Assuming we have the item, obtain the permalink and put that in your course or syllabus.

You can also ask a librarian to help you!  

Permalinks are different from URLs.

The URL is the web address seen at the top of your browser, starting with http: or https:. In a database, the URL is often dynamically generated, and includes information about your login session. It will not work for another person. 

A permalink (aka PURL) is generated by the database for each unique item of content, and is meant to go back to that single item no matter who uses it or when. 

When you include a link to library resources, please also include this text: 


If it prompts you for a login, use your college login and password, which is the same one you use to access your online courses and student account. 
If you are able to access your online courses and student account, but cannot access the library databases, please contact the ITS Helpdesk. 99% of the time the problem is one called "Duplicate entry in the student address book," and if you say that, they will know exactly what you mean and can fix it right away.