Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
New York Times Historical Archive *Access Expires 7/31/2020
Please note that access to this resource expires on 7/31/2020. Please visit
the New York Times
which we continue to have access to from 1980 - present.
Labor Studies Primary Sources on the Web
Anthracite Coal Strike
Ohio State University Ehistory project multimedia collections. Cartoons and documents.
Bisbee Deportation of 1917
University of Arizona Library Web Exhibit. Personal papers, correspondence, newspaper articles, documents from the I.W.W., government reports, etc.
Clio Media Initiatives in History
University of Albany History Department. Collections include Endicott Johnson Corporation, Glovers of Fulton County, Schenectady General Electric, and U.S. Labor and Industrial History Audio Project.
Everett Public Library. Photographs and newspaper articles. (Search is on the left side of the page.)
Farmworker Movement Documentation Project
Photographs, documents, oral histories, music, and videos.
FBI - FOIA
FBI documents of historical interest released to the public through the Freedom of Information Act. For more info, click the blue circle i.
Flint Sit-down Strike
From HistoricalVoices.org. Audio files.
Harvard University Open Collections
Digital Collections include Women Working and American Immigration.
Haymarket Affair Digital Collection
Chicago Historical Society. Trial documents, broadsides, manuscripts, photographs, prints, engravings, pictures of artifacts, and published materials of that era.
Kheel Center for Industrial and Labor Relations
Cornell University Catherwood Library. Topics include the Triangle Factory Fire. Photographs.
Library of Congress > American Memory Project
Collections include the Haymarket Affair, America at Work, Inside an American Factory, and the National Child Labor Committee. Search the Ephemera Collection for pamphlets by various organizations.
Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online Catalog
Huge collection of historical prints and photographs. Most are in the public domain.
U.S. Department of Labor.
Moving Image Archive
Classic movies and alternative news broadcasts. Some of these works are copyrighted; others are in the public domain.
Online Archives of California
Topics include longshoremen's association, agricultural workers, the oil industry, and labor camps.
Oral History Project in Labor History
Roosevelt University. Transcripts of oral histories on a number of labor topics.
Pacific Northwest Labor History Project
University of Washington. Topics include the Seattle General Strike, the I.W.W., the Communist Party, and the Labor press.
Robert F. Wagner Labor Archives
New York University Tamiment Library. Topics include Jewish labor and the Holocaust, New York City labor history, the anarchist movement, labor and culture, and the CPUSA.
University of Washington Libraries, Digital Collections
The Everett Massacre, the Centralia Massacre, Industries and Occupations Photographs, Clark Kinsey and Darius Kinsey photographs (logging industry), Social Issues photographs, WTO Seattle Collection
WTO History Project Digital Collection
University of Washington. Planning documents, photographs, posters, signs, leaflets, etc. documenting the Seattle WTO protest.