Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Social Science & Humanities Library Collection Database Tutorial

How to use and navigate the Taylor & Francis database.

Screen capture of the Taylor & Francis search page

The Social Sciences and Humanities Library Collection is a searchable database from journal publisher Taylor & Francis. It provides access to more than 1480 journals from 1997 to the present. It also includes indexing for many other journals in these disciplines (see How to use Open URL or Limit to Full-Text below).

Searching

To search, type in words that represent what you are seeking. Example: adolescent heroin addiction. Enclose commonly-used exact phrases in double quotes (e.g. "Black Lives Matter"). You can click the "Advanced Search" link to the right of the search box if you want to search for a specific citation or use other advanced search techniques.

Results Page

Screen capture showing Taylor & Francis results page and hints on how to get full-text

Once you carry out a search, you have several options for further limiting or sorting the results (sort is just above first result and other options, such as publication date, are on left).

Full-Text

For any article that is available in full-text within the database, you will see a green checkmark (or an orange open lock) icon in the lower right of it on the results page (see screen shot above). Click on the article title to view the full-text. In some cases you may also then need to click on the 'PDF' icon to view it. Most articles will show a PDF link under the title on the full-text page (this will show the article in a format closer to the print version). Use this option to print or download an article (or if it has a green check mark but the full-text is not displayed).

For any where you do not see a green check mark (or orange lock), you can click the blue "open URL" icon to check if that article is available elsewhere in the library's collections (this will open a OneSearch results page where you can access the item if available or request it via interlibrary loan if not).

To get a Permalink to a specific article (to access it directly later or post to a discussion forum, etc.): click on the title of the article from the results page. Under the citation information at the top of that next page, look for a URL with doi-org in it. Example: https://doi-org.library.esc.edu/10.1080/22221751.2019.1595161

Log In

You DO NOT need to use the "Log In" link at the top of the database page (you will have already signed in using your ESC login to reach the database). However, you can use this to create a free Taylor & Francis account in order to save searches for later use or create search alerts (you must have an account to do these 2 things).

More Help

Basic Search Strategies tutorial, or you can find detailed advanced search help for this database here.